Hayes named a MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalist

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Penn State women's soccer senior Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.) has been selected as one of 15 semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Award for her efforts during the 2013 season, the NSCAA announced on Tuesday afternoon.

Hayes was a semifinalist for the award last season and a finalist in 2011, making her just the third Nittany Lion to receive at least semifinalist recognition on three occasions. Tiffany Weimer (2003-05) and Hermann Trophy winner Christie Welsh (2000-02) are the only other PSU players to earn the honor three times.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is collegiate soccer's most prestigious award, presented annually to one male and one female athlete. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 12 and the winners will be named on Friday, Jan. 10, 2014 at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. Welsh is the only Penn State athlete to win the award (2001).

Hayes turned in a phenomenal senior campaign, tallying 19 goals and six assists. The forward earned first team All-Big Ten accolades after finishing second in the league in goals and points (44). Hayes led the Lions to their 19th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance as she averaged one goal per game throughout the regular season.

The two-time NSCAA first team All-American claimed a top-three spot in Penn State's career goals and points ledgers after amassing 71 goals and 21 assists for 163 points. Hayes leads all active Division I players in goals, ranks second in points and is one of just 23 current athletes to record over 30 goals and 20 assists.

Fans can vote for Hayes by visiting machermanntrophy.lockerdome.com. Fan voting opens on Thursday, Dec. 5 and continues through Tuesday, Dec. 10. 

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated December 06, 2013