Percussion Ensemble, Mallet Ensemble to perform Oct. 17

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- The Penn State School of Music presents Percussion Ensemble I and Mallet Ensemble in performance on at 8 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 17, in Esber Recital Hall. Admission is free.

The Mallet Ensemble's program features a transcription of an extended composition originally written for piano by Spanish 20th-century composer Joaquin Turina. Percussion Ensemble I performs two movements from Andrew Beall's "Pat Metheny Suite," a tribute to the Grammy-award winning jazz guitarist, in addition to other selections. Both ensembles are conducted by percussion faculty member Dan C. Armstrong.

Mallet Ensemble

"Miniaturas, Op. 52"  -- Joaquin Turina, arr. Peter Tanner

"Immortal Dreams" -- Nathan Daughtrey

Ritual Fire Dance (from "El Amor Brujo") -- Manuel DeFalla, arr. Mitchell Peters

Percussion Ensemble I

Letter from Home (from "Pat Metheny Suite") -- Andrew Beall (Trevor Rosten, vibraphone)

The Heat of the Day (from "Pat Metheny Suite") -- Andrew Beall

"Corpe-tet" -- Thom Hasenpflug

"Ku-Ka-Ilimoku" -- Christopher Rouse

"Whirlwind" -- David Gillingham

Last Updated October 10, 2013