2009 Distinguished Educator Award winners to be recognized April 28

Congratulations to the 2009 Distinguished Educator Award winners: Richard J. Courtney, microbiology and immunology; Timothy J. Craig, medicine; Elizabeth H. Sinz, anesthesiology; and Kent E. Vrana, pharmacology. These faculty members will join the 28 previous awardees to become members of the Society of Distinguished Educators. An award ceremony and reception is scheduled for 5 p.m., Tuesday, April 28, in the University Conference Center on the grounds of Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center.

Awardees were selected from a pool of nominees based on demonstrated exceptional scholarly work in medical or graduate education in one or more of the following areas: original educational research; successful procurement of educational grants; development and implementation of innovations in the curriculum, teaching methodology or technique, new assessment methods, or faculty development; consistent awards for excellence as a teacher or role model; and leadership in education.

The awards are made possible through an endowment established from a generous gift from two faculty members. The initial gift was matched with College of Medicine funds by Darrell G. Kirch,former dean of Penn State College of Medicine, and supplemented by the Woodward Endowment for Medical Science Education.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated April 23, 2009