Commission for Women award recipients announced

University Park, Pa. -- Each year, the Commission for Women honors women who have shown notable leadership and are accomplished in their fields, have supported the University's diversity efforts and promoted equal opportunity, and/or have contributed to human causes and public service activities. The 2009 Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award and the Achieving Women Awards acknowledge and exemplify the achievements and contributions among Penn Staters, reflecting the University's mission of mentorship, leadership, service, and promoting diversity.

The honorees received their awards at a ceremony on April 10 at the Commission for Women's third annual luncheon.

Linda C. Higginson, assistant dean for advising in Undergraduate Education, won the Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award. The award was created in memory of Rosemary Schraer, former associate provost for Penn State, and honors a current University employee who exemplifies Schraer's giving of herself as a mentor.

The Achieving Women awards are given to employees and students who have shown leadership and are accomplished in their fields, supported Penn State's diversity efforts and promoted equal opportunity, and contributed to human causes and public service activities. The following people were honored in the categories that immediately follow their names:

-- Maurine G. Claver, staff exempt, director of Environmental Health and Safety in the Office of Physical Plant.

-- Sandra D. Wagner, technical service, residence hall utility worker in Housing and Food Services at Penn State Hazleton.

-- Carol Schafer, faculty, associate professor of theatre, integrative arts and women's studies at Penn State Beaver.

-- Deloris Brobeck, staff nonexempt, staff assistant in Undergraduate Education.

-- Lori J. Bechtel-Wherry, administrator, chancellor at Penn State Altoona

-- Brianne Wilburne, undergraduate student in mechanical engineering, College of Engineering.

-- Christin Morrow, graduate student in chemistry, Eberly College of Science.

The Commission for Women was established in 1981 to serve as an advisory group to the president on issues affecting women and to guide the University in its efforts to enhance the status of women at Penn State. The commission advocates for programs and policies that improve the working and learning environments for women students, faculty and staff members, technical service employees and administrators.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated January 10, 2015