Penn State Behrend recognizes students’ service and leadership with ceremony

April 24, 2018

More than 30 students and clubs or organizations were recognized Thursday, April 19, at Penn State Behrend’s annual Excellence in Student Leadership and Service Awards.

Award recipients include:


  • Outstanding Student Organization Award — Multi-Cultural Council
  • Outstanding Student Organization President Award — Moustafa Elhadary, Alexandria, Egypt
  • Outstanding Student Organization Officer Award — Tyler Dulaney, Greenville, Pa.
  • Outstanding Student Organization Member Award — Autumn Mozick, Bridgeville, Pa.
  • Outstanding Program Award — THON- 24FAC
  • Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award — Michael Felmlee
  • Outstanding Fraternity/Sorority Chapter Award — Alpha Sigma Tau
  • Outstanding Diversity and Inclusion Program Award — Multi-Cultural Council: Harambee
  • Outstanding Collaborative Program Award — Interfraternity Council and Behrend Gaming Club: Game Night
  • Student Activities Leadership Award — Megan Stetz, Mars, Pa.
  • Guy W. Wilson Award for Service to the College — Carolyn Tome, Erie
  • Jane Wood Reno Memorial Scholarship Award — Ashlyn Kelly, Bradford, Pa.
  • Student Government Association President’s Award — Andrew Clark, Erie
  • Penn State Behrend Alumni Society Leadership Award — Arianna Yunik, Albion, Pa
  • Irvin H. Kochel Lion Ambassador Award — Paul Jones, Edinboro, Pa.; Grant Pearsick, Wexford, Pa.; Bailey Hopkins, Wexford, Pa.; Ashlyn Kelly, Bradford, Pa.
  • The Pride of the Lion Award — Frank Casertano, Allison Park, Pa.
  • Outstanding Adult Learner Award — Michael Papale, North East, Pa.
  • Conor F. MacMannis Memorial Award — Riley Perkowski, Red Lion, Pa.; Rachael Adams, Erie


  • Christopher M. Geitner Award — Safinaz Elhadary, Alexandria, Egypt
  • Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Service Award — Alexandra Alfonso Castro, Carolina, Puerto Rico
  • Larry and Katheryn Smith Philanthropy Award — THON
  • Outstanding Service by an Organization — JON’s
  • Outstanding Service Project Award — Student PSEA and RHS 100: Valentine’s Day Extravaganza


  • Cheryl Ramsdell-Anderson Female Athlete of the Year Award — Maryn Horn, Jersey Village, Texas, Jordan Oberlander, Waterford, Pa.
  • James Frye Male Athlete of the Year Award — Jacob Parsons, Titusville, Pa.
  • John Zahniser Female Scholar-Athlete Award — Alexa Haverly, Erie
  • John Zahniser Male Scholar-Athlete Award — Josh Kolarac, Imperial, Pa.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated April 24, 2018