Women's hockey collects three All-Conference honors

March 06, 2015

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Three Nittany Lions garnered All-College Hockey America (CHA) honors, the most in Penn State women’s hockey history, with Laura Bowman (Minnetonka, Minn.) capturing the program’s first all-conference second team selection.

Bowman was named an All-CHA Second Team honoree, and Hannah Ehresmann (Minnetonka, Minn.) and Bella Sutton (Shoreview, Minn.) were picked to the All-CHA Rookie Team.

Bowman leads the Blue and White with 31 points, becoming the school’s single season record holder for goals (16), points and shorthanded goals (2) during the 2014-15 campaign. She ranks third in the conference with 0.86 points per game and has netted the fourth-most goals per game at 0.44. Bowman also won over 50 percent of her face-offs for the second-straight year (0.562). One of two alternate captains, the sophomore was a two-time CHA Player of the Week and was honored as the CHA Player of the Month in December.

Penn State has put at least one player on the All-CHA Rookie Team since the program’s inception, with Shannon Yoxheimer (Jackson, Mich.) earning the Nittany Lions’ first All-CHA Rookie Team selection in 2012-13, and Bowman appearing on the All-CHA Rookie Team last season.

Sutton, a CHA Player and Rookie of the Week pick, was the Nittany Lions’ top offensive defenseman throughout the season. Her seven goals, eight assists and 15 points rank fifth in their respective categories on the team. She is tied for fourth among freshmen and defensemen in CHA play with 0.50 points per game, and her 63 blocks lead the Blue and White.

Ehresmann sits fourth among conference goaltenders with a 2.35 goals against average, a .927 save percentage and a .458 winning percentage in 12 starts between the pipes. The Minnetonka, Minn., native holds a 4-5-3 record, and is a CHA Rookie of the Week honoree.

The Nittany Lions captured the CHA’s Team Sportsmanship Award, given to the team that is assessed the least amount penalty minutes during conference play. Their 7.2 penalty minutes per game was a full minute less than Lindenwood (8.2). Robert Morris (9.1), Syracuse (9.5), RIT (10.2) and Mercyhurst (10.7) rounded out the list.

Penn State continues its season with the CHA Tournament semifinal game on Fri., March 6. The Nittany Lions face Syracuse in Mercyhurst Ice Center at 7 p.m.

First Team All-Conference
F Shara Jasper (Lindenwood)
F Emily Janiga (Mercyhurst)
F Melissa Piacentini (Syracuse)
D Molly Bryne (Mercyhurst)
D Nicole Renault (Syracuse)
G Nicole Hensley (Lindenwood)

Second Team All-Conference
F Rebecca Vint (Robert Morris)
F Laura Bowman (Penn State)
F Jenna Dingeldein (Mercyhurst)
D Mikaela Lowater (Robert Morris)
D Akane Hosoyamada (Syracuse)
G Jennifer Gilligan (Syracuse)

Rookie All-Conference
F Sarah Robello (Mercyhurst)
F Stephanie Grossi (Syracuse)
F Alysha Burriss (Syracuse)
D Christa Vuglar (RIT)
D Bella Sutton (Penn State)
G Hannah Ehresmann (Penn State)

Team Sportsmanship Award
Penn State University

College Hockey America Scoring Trophy
Emily Janiga (Mercyhurst)

College Hockey America Goaltending Trophy
Amanda Makela (Mercyhurst)

Best Defensive Forward
Lindsay Grigg (RIT)

Best Defenseman
Molly Bryne (Mercyhurst)

Individual Sportsmanship
Taylor Thurston (RIT)

Rookie of the Year
Stephanie Grossi (Syracuse)

Player of the Year
Emily Janiga (Mercyhurst)

Coach of the Year
Paul Flanagan (Syracuse)


Last Updated March 06, 2015