Three alumni inducted into Smeal's Hammond Society

April 30, 2014

Jennifer Eggers, Class of 1994, marketing; Bill Lane, Class of 1975, accounting; and Mike Piwowar, Class of 1998, finance; were welcomed into the Penn State Smeal College of Business Hammond Society at the March 28 Smeal Alumni Society Board Awards Program and Hammond Society Recognition Dinner.

Induction into the Hammond Society serves to honor alumni who have demonstrated commitment to Smeal and to foster their continued involvement in the college. Membership is offered to alumni of the college who have served out their maximum term on the Smeal Alumni Society Board (ASB) as an at-large director.

Eggers is president of Leader Shift Authentic Insights. She served on the ASB from 1999-2008 and again from 2009-14, serving as president in 2012 and 2013.

Lane is senior director of global government and corporate affairs for Caterpillar. He served on the ASB from 2005-14 and was chair of the Recruitment Task Force for part of that time.

Piwowar was appointed by President Barack Obama as commissioner of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and was sworn in on Aug. 15, 2013. He served on the ASB from 2007-13.

“Induction into the Hammond Society is our way of recognizing the years of outstanding service these alumni have given us through the Alumni Society Board,” said Jennifer Crispell, director of alumni relations at Smeal. “The members of the Hammond Society remain engaged friends of the college and their fellow alumni.”

The dinner also serves to recognize current Hammond Society members. J. D. Hammond, former dean of Smeal for whom the society is named, was in attendance along with his wife, Marian. In addition, Hammond Society members Larry Griest, Class of 1979, master of business administration; Patrick Mazzolla, Class of 1969, management; Carol Shaffer, Class of 1974, finance; and Ed Wilson, Class of 1970, marketing; also attended.

The Hammond Society is named in recognition of Hammond, who served as dean of the college from 1989-99, for his support and profound influence in the development of the ASB.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated May 02, 2014