Commission for Women award recipients honored

April 17, 2014

The Penn State Commission for Women recognized 2014 award winners at the eighth annual Commission for Women luncheon April 14. The keynote address was delivered by Nichola Gutgold, associate dean for academic affairs, Schreyer Honors College.

The commission honors women who have shown notable leadership and who are accomplished in their fields, have supported the University’s diversity efforts and promoted equal opportunity, and/or have contributed to human causes and public service activities. The 2014 Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award and the Achieving Women Awards acknowledge and exemplify the achievements and contributions among Penn Staters, reflecting the University’s mission of mentorship, leadership, service and promoting diversity.

The Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award was created in memory of Schraer, former associate provost for Penn State. It honors a current University employee who exemplifies Schraer's giving of herself as a mentor. This year’s recipient was Mary Beth Pinto, professor, Sam and Irene Black School of Business, Penn State Erie, The Behrend College.

The Achieving Women Award recognizes Penn State women who have shown notable leadership and accomplishment in their fields, and have gone beyond the requirements of their employment duties and responsibilities in support of the University’s diversity efforts, promotion of equal opportunity or contribution to human causes and public service activities. The following people were honored:

-- Erin Miller, undergraduate student
Architectural engineering, College of Engineering

-- Kathryne Sparks Woodle, graduate student
Doctoral candidate in physics, Eberly College of Science

-- Harriett L. Gaston, staff exempt
Coordinator of Minority Programs, Freshman Testing, Counseling and Advising Program; Penn State Altoona

-- Shufang (Gail) Lee Chang, technical service
Food production worker B, Campus Retail Dining

-- Patricia Silveyra, faculty
Assistant professor of pediatrics, research associate; College of Medicine, Penn State Hershey

-- Felicia Brown-Haywood, administrator
Director of Student Affairs, Penn State Harrisburg

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated January 10, 2015