Pennsylvania Quintet to perform Feb. 11

February 03, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- The Pennsylvania Quintet, comprised of Penn State woodwind faculty members Naomi Seidman, Timothy Hurtz, Anthony Costa, Lisa Bontrager and Daryl Durran, will present a concert at 8 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 11, in Penn State's Esber Recital Hall. The quintet's eclectic program ranges from transcriptions of keyboard music originally composed by Johann Sebastian Bach to music for woodwind quintet written in 2002 by Russian composer and oboist Andrey Rubtsov. Admission is free.


"Humoreske (Rondo)" -- Alexander Zemlinsky

Adagio in B minor, KV 540 -- W.A. Mozart, arranged by Heribert Breuer and Daryl Durran

Quartet for Winds -- Jean Françaix

Selections from "Art of the Fugue" -- Johann Sebastian Bach , arranged by Samuel Baron

"Three Moods" -- Andrey Rubtsov

The Pennsylvania Quintet, acclaimed wind chamber music ensemble, has been concertizing since 1984 at major venues on both sides of the Atlantic. Performances include concerts at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., Carnegie's Weill Recital Hall in New York City, the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival in Germany, as well as recitals in Nuremberg and Frankfurt.

In addition to concerts on many university guest artist series, the quintet has been Ensemble-in-Residence at the Sedona Chamber Music Festival and a winner of the National Flute Association's international Chamber Music Ensemble Competition. National Public Radio has featured the quintet in its nationally-syndicated program "Performance Today." The Pennsylvania Quintet can be heard on three compact disc recordings: "American Wind Music" (Centaur 2085), "20th Century Wind Chamber Music" (Centaur 2225) and "Recent American Works for Winds" (Centaur 2509).

Last Updated February 03, 2014