Lacrosse's Adams named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

February 20, 2009

University Park, Pa. — Penn State Nittany Lion men's lacrosse player Drew Adams (Springfield, Pa.) has been named to the 2009 Tewaaraton Award Watch List. Adams is among the select few in line for college lacrosse's Player of the Year award. It is the second year the Penn Stater has been included on the list.

The Tewaaraton Award is given by the Tewaaraton Award Foundation, in conjunction with the University Club of Washington, D.C. The organization formally established the Trophy in 2000. Today, it is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, honoring the top male and female athletes in the United States. Essentially, it is the lacrosse equivalent of the Heisman Trophy.

Adams is a three-time ECAC Goalie of the Year and a three-time All-ECAC Selection. He was also named ECAC Rookie of the Year. This year's co-captain, Adams has started in all 41 games to date during his Penn State career. He sports a goals against average below 8.00 for his career and has collected nearly 500 saves. Adams has been an Honorable Mention All-American twice during his stellar Nittany Lion career.

The initial watch list will be winnowed down as the season progresses, eventually boiling down to a list of five finalists from which the winner will be chosen. This year's award will be presented on Thursday, May 28.

Penn State, receiving votes in the USILA Coaches Poll, will host No. 8 Notre Dame at 1 p.m. Sunday (Feb. 22) in Holuba Hall.

  • Drew Adams

    IMAGE: Penn State Sports Information

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated November 18, 2010