Senior design project winners announced

December 14, 2009

Half a dozen teams were awarded Lockheed Martin Design Awards for their efforts at this semester's Engineering Design Project Showcase.

The semester-long projects give students the opportunity to solve real-world engineering problems posed by industry sponsors. The effort culminated in the Engineering Design Project Showcase, held on Dec. 10, at the HUB's Alumni Hall.

Two projects were awarded first place: a project to design and manufacture a hydraulic excavator prototype for Rockland Manufacturing of Bedford, Pa., and a machine that sanitizes and refills water bottles with a bar-code payment system for sponsor Thomas Petrini. The excavator project team consisted of mechanical engineering students Christopher Albright, Chris Punshon, Shawn Romig and Jared Neeper. The water bottles project was created by computer engineering student Kyle St. James, industrial engineering student Caitlin Zankowski and mechanical engineering students Caitlin Clancy and Matthew Trudeau.

Two projects were named second-place winners: an effort to design a water well drill for subsistence farmers in Kenya and a vehicle and fueling optimization project for UPS. The water well drill project was designed by mechanical engineering students Shane Johnson, Aaron Young, Alex Zondlo and Cliff Enyeart. The UPS project was done by industrial engineering students Murtadha Hameed, Juan Gurdian Arosemena, Nigel D'Mello and Mustafa Harcar.

Third place went to a mirror-washing system for a solar power plant designed for Bechtel and a central scheduling system for a hospital and physician network for Charles Cole Memorial Hospital in Coudersport, Pa. The mirror-washing system was designed by industrial engineering students Justin Gambone, Ryan Turner and Sean Campbell and chemical engineering student Madhuri Jagadish. The hospital project was executed by industrial engineering students David Nye, Paige Carpenter, Tatianna Perez and Jarrod Kazda.

Three best poster awards also were given out at the event. The Thomas Perini-sponsored water bottles project was awarded first place.

Second-place for best poster went to the Orion landing active attenuation strut design for NASA by mechanical engineering students Andrew Anderson, Kevin Hale, Michael Healy and Matthew Devine. Third place went to a micro-hydro power training system for Kabul University by mechanical engineering students Joe Codichini, Jennifer Dibello, Ruomeng Pang and Alan Cassler.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated December 15, 2009