Communications faculty, graduate students earn teaching awards

August 03, 2010

Two Penn State College of Communications faculty members and two graduate students with teaching duties will receive teaching awards at the annual conference of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication this week.

The honors reflect the commitment to teaching at the Penn State, and they will be presented during three separate sessions at the 94th annual conference, set to take place Aug. 4 to 7 in Denver, Colo.

Honorees are:
-- Professor Dennis Davis, recipient of the Distinguished Educator Award from the Mass Communications and Society Division of and the Graduate Education Interest Group;
-- Assistant Professor Michael Elavsky, honored in both the Best Practices in Teaching Critical Thinking Competition and as a GIFT Scholar (for a poster presentation with teaching tips); and
-- graduate students Keunmin Bae and Pamela Jo Brubaker, also honored in the Best Practices in Teaching Critical Thinking Competition.

The AEJMC is the oldest and largest alliance of journalism and mass communications educators administrators at the college level. Its annual conference draws thousands of mass communications teachers and researchers from around the world. Several faculty members in the College of Communications serve in the organization's leadership ranks.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated January 09, 2015