Penn State Fayette students honored for excellence at annual banquet

May 24, 2012
UNIONTOWN, Pa. — Nearly 40 students from Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus received awards honoring academic and athletic achievements at the annual awards banquet held recently. Among the evening’s top honors were:
The Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award, named in honor of the late Penn State President and Mrs. Eric Walker, was presented to John Peck. The award was established in 1971 to recognize a full-time undergraduate student who possesses outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship in programs and services that have positively influenced students and contributed to the campus and its prestige.
The Dennis Hippo Memorial Award, in honor of Dennis Hippo, a member of Penn State Fayette’s first graduating class who was killed in action in Vietnam, is awarded to one male and one female full-time student each year. The recipients must exemplify the attributes of Hippo in the areas of leadership, campus and community involvement, academic persistence, service and altruism. This year’s award recipients were Angela Simmons and Therman King.
The Scholastic Excellence Award recognizes students who compete in a written and oral academic research presentation. This year’s finalists were Rebecca Corvin, Shirley Rojas-Acosta, and Rachael Franks. Franks was the award recipient.
The complete list of student award winners includes:
Leadership Awards
·         Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award: John Peck
·         Dennis Hippo Memorial Award: Angela Simmons and Therman King
University Awards
·         Freshman President’s Awards: Esther Blizman, Harrision Boyd, Ian Colbert, John Cook, Amanda Domaracki, Alex Hamborsky, Moriah Kromer, Tracy Leapline, Kaycee May, Shawn Sherwood
·         President Sparks Awards: Frances Gilmore, Heather Hunchuck, Mitchell McCloskey, Samantha Molton, Jacob Phelps
Academic Awards:
·         Administration of Justice Student of the Year Award: Andrew Stepanik
·         Associates in Business Award: Fran Gilmore
·         Bachelors of Science in Business Award: Brent Lint and Brooke Mollick
·         English and American Studies Award: John Peck
·         Human Development & Family Studies Baccalaureate Award: Kristan Miller
·         Kinesiology Award: Lori Beth Wallace (Fall), Rachael Franks (Spring), and Drexel Rothrauff (Spring)
·         Philosophy Award: Aushay Stinogle
·         Physical Therapy Award: Jamie Forys
·         Thelma Sandy Award in Nursing: Ashley Ludwig (Fall) and Nicole Denard (Spring)
Campus Awards
·         Scholastic Excellence Award Winner: Rachael Franks
·         Port Family Public Service Award: Kristan Miller
·         Joanne Genova Sujansky Memorial Leadership Award: Brent Lint and Nicole Ardabell
·         Drozd Family Humanitarian Assistance and Community Service Award: Robert Ruggieri
·         Club of the Year Award: Human Development and Family Studies Association
Penn State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC)
·         Men’s Basketball: David Winns—First Team; Brandon Cunningham—Newcomer of the Year, Honorable Mention; James Pratt—Honorable Mention
·         Men’s Wrestling All-Academic Team: Dan Karpency—157lb. Champion
·         Women’s Basketball Team: Jillian Guthrie—First Team, Player of the Year; Kasey Ruble—Honorable Mention; Caitlin Wontroba—First Team, Newcomer of the Year
·         Women’s Volleyball: Leah Ambrosini—Player of the Year, First Team; Janelle Cooper—Honorable Mention, Co-Newcomer of the Year; Samantha Helmantoler—Honorable Mention; Katie Sleasman—First Team; Nancy Wheeler—Coach of the Year
·         Women’s Softball: Katie Volek—First Team, Newcomer of the Year; Moriah Kromer—Honorable Mention; Shelby Dziak—Honorable Mention
·         Men’s Baseball All-Academic Team: Sam Buecher—First Team; Zach Durbin—First Team; Alex Fogle—Second Team
United State Collegiate Athletic Association (USCAA)
·         Cross Country Academic All-American: Jacynth Drumhiller, Rachael Franks, Heather Hunchuck, Jennifer Naymick
·         Men’s Basketball: David Winns—First Team All-American
·         Women’s Basketball: Jillian Guthrie—First Team All-American; Kasey Ruble—Honorable Mention; Caitlin Wontroba—Honorable Mention; Shelby Yourchik—Academic All-American
·         Women’s Volleyball: Leah Ambrosini—First Team All-American; Katie Sleasman—Honorable Mention


(Media Contacts)

Last Updated May 24, 2012