Six students selected as Bellisario Fellows

June 30, 2021

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Six Penn State students have been selected as Bellisario College Fellows in the Donald P. Bellisario College of Communications.

The students were selected after completing a rigorous application process that included reviews by alumni, faculty and staff, as well as personal interviews.

Dozens of high-achieving students applied for the program. Those selected were:

Advertising/Public Relations: Sara Harkins, Kennett Square, Pennsylvania

Film Production: Catherine Cao, South Setauket, New York;

Journalism: Maryah Burney, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania; Preston Shoemaker, Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania; and Megan Swift, Murrylsville, Pennsylvania

Telecommunications and Media Industries: Jodi Norton, Ellington, Connecticut

All students selected as Bellisario Fellows were evaluated on their academic performance, demonstrated interest in career development, involvement in campus media opportunities, and potential to become notable stewards to the Bellisario College.

Those six newcomers join six returning students who were selected last year, completing a group of 12 active Bellisario Fellows. The holdovers are: Kaitlin Jean-Noel (advertising/public relations), East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania; Isabella Granada (advertising/public relations), Stanhope, New Jersey; Chris Alderfer (film production), Schwenksville, Pennsylvania; Jade Campos (journalism), Caroline County, Virginia; Kira Mohr (journalism), Boston; and Luke Vargas (journalism), Covington, Louisiana.

The Bellisario College Fellows program is an effort to provide a transformational learning experience for students, helping them network and meet with alumni and friends while also engaging them to serve as ambassadors for the Bellisario College and Penn State. The program is designed to offer special opportunities for students, provide them with exclusive access to on-campus events, and even participate in field trips to meet with key alumni in nearby major media markets.

Alumni reviewers for this year’s process were: Dejanae Gibson, associate producer, Discovery Inc., Taylor Harrington, head of community, Groove; Amanda Krasovec, business development, Ready366; and Jackie Szafara, executive director, The National Arts Program.

Last Updated July 06, 2021