Penn State Fayette celebrates student achievement in online program

May 03, 2021

LEMONT FURNACE, Pa. — Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus celebrated student achievement over the 2020–21 academic year in the 55th annual Student Awards Recognition Program, published online in lieu of the traditional banquet.

“This past academic year has been unlike any we’ve ever experienced,” said Charles Patrick, chancellor and chief academic officer, in a video message featured in the online program.

“It has forced us to face a unique challenge, and I strongly believe that our students will emerge from this experience better prepared to face life’s many unexpected challenges. What I’ve witnessed our students accomplish in the 2020–21 academic year was profound, even inspiring.”

Penn State Fayette congratulates all award recipients, including:

Campus academic awards

Administration of Justice Student of the Year Award 

Justin Salom

James E. Work Memorial Award in Agriculture

Adam Mucha

Jerome Joseph Guzy Memorial Art Award

Drawing: Joshua Simon, "Self Portrait"

Painting: Josephine Pindro, "Disjointed"

Business Student of the Year Award, Associate in Business Administration

Jarred Provance

Business Student of the Year Award, Bachelor of Science in Business

Iman Young

Corporate Communications Student of the Year Award

Carlie Durst

Engineering Student of the Year Award

Bret Leskinen

Engineering Technology Student of the Year Award

Erik Pietrantoni

Human Development and Family Studies Student of the Year Award

Emily Franks

Math Student of the Year Award

Luke Smearcheck

Physical Therapy Assistant Student of the Year Award

Casey Falcon

Project and Supply Chain Management Student of the Year Award

Benjamin Ream

Psychology Student of the Year Award

Kaylee Aaron

Life Sciences Student of the Year Award

Ryan Swartz

Physical Sciences Student of the Year Award

Derek D'Annolfo Brittany Nelson

University awards

Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award: Kaylee Aaron

Established in 1971, the Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award recognizes students from each of the Penn State Undergraduate Campuses whose outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership, and citizenship have positively influenced the campus and University community.

President’s Freshman Award: Abigail Bellina, Anthony Bertram, Austin Brundege, Kenadi Erdely, Donata Heckman, Alexis Hull, Emily Jenkins, Joshua Krause, Alysha Lessman, Jacob Levendosky, Sarabeth Miner, Megan O'Brien, Josephine Pindro, Kaitlyn Scripp, Luke Smearcheck

The President’s Freshman Award is presented annually to students who have earned a 4.00 cumulative grade-point average based on at least 12 graded credits.

Campus merit awards

David J. Leone Memorial Leadership Award: Braydon Nitkiewicz

The David J. Leone Memorial Leadership Award honors outstanding leadership in an on-campus student organization by an undergraduate engineering student.

Dennis Hippo Memorial Award: Emily Franks, Tyler Zelenick

Established in 1970, the Dennis Hippo Memorial Award recognizes students who exemplify the attributes of Dennis Hippo in the areas of leadership, academic persistence, engagement, service, and altruism.

Drozd Family Humanitarian Assistance and Community Service Award: J'Taya Pirl

The Drozd Family Humanitarian Assistance and Community Service Award recognizes outstanding achievement by undergraduate students who have given of themselves by performing community service and/or humanitarian assistance to their community, state, country, and/or other nations affected by catastrophic natural events.

Port Family Public Service Award: Hayley White

The Port Family Public Service Award recognizes a student who has volunteered or assisted in public service programs within the campus or regional community.

Club of the Year Award: Multicultural Student Association (MSA)

The Club of the Year Award recognizes a student-run organization that has contributed outstanding service to the campus, regional, and/or global community.

For more information and the full list of winners, visit the 2021 Student Academic Awards online gallery.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated May 03, 2021