Board of Trustees appoints oversight group on racism, bias and community safety

June 21, 2020

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – In support of Penn State President Eric Barron’s commitment to address both the immediate issues and longstanding problems of racism, bias and intolerance, the Board of Trustees will establish an oversight group whose charge will be to hear regular updates from the newly formed Select Penn State Presidential Commission on Racism, Bias and Community Safety, which Barron announced in his June 10 message to the Penn State Community.

The oversight group will also hear updates related to the seven new initiatives being launched to combat racism and bias across Penn State.

The group will be chaired by Trustee Brandon Short and will include eight other board members who, over the coming weeks and months, will receive regular briefings related to the initiatives, provide input and guidance on the initiatives and provide updates to the full board.

“The Board of Trustees wishes to reiterate that racism in any form cannot be tolerated and that it is counterintuitive to the mission of higher education,” said Board Chair Mark H. Dambly. We are proud to work with President Barron and Penn State administrators, faculty, staff and students to launch these important initiatives, which will enrich our campuses, bring greater accountability, and help us all advance diversity, equity and inclusion on Penn State campuses.”

The board is committed to leading the University and its larger community forward to fight intolerance, model inclusivity and embrace the power of diversity and belonging.

"This is critical work and I am pleased to lead this effort on behalf of the Board of Trustees,” said Short. “I look forward to approaching this with complete focus as we review our work in this vital area, support the newly stated initiatives, and challenge ourselves to think and act differently."

In addition to Short, the oversight group includes Trustees Abraham Amoros, Bryan Culler, Mark H. Dambly (ex officio), Barbara Doran, David Han, Julie Anna Potts, Pedro Rivera and Matt Schuyler.

Last Updated April 15, 2021