Electrical engineering professor named Electromagnetics Academy fellow

Sarah Small
June 02, 2020

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Douglas Werner, John L. and Genevieve H. McCain Chair of Electrical Engineering in the Penn State School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has been named a fellow of the Electromagnetics Academy of the PhotonIcs and Electromagnetics Research Symposium, also known as the Progress in Electromagnetics Research Society (PIERS).

Headshot of a man with a mustache and glasses wearing a button-down shirt, tie and suit jacket

Douglas Werner, John L. and Genevieve H. McCain Chair of Electrical Engineering

IMAGE: Penn State College of Engineering

The PIERS Electromagnetics Academy is “devoted to academic excellence and the advancement of research and relevant applications of electromagnetic theory and to promoting educational objectives of the electromagnetics profession,” according to its website. 

“I’m genuinely honored to have been inducted into the Electromagnetics Academy as a fellow, which is the highest recognition given by PIERS for career achievements and substantial, major contributions in the field of electromagnetics,” Werner said. “The Electromagnetic Academy has a long history of promoting excellence in electromagnetic research and education. I’m very grateful to be given this opportunity as a fellow to help carry on that tradition.”

Werner is the director of the Penn State Computational Electromagnetics and Antennas Research Lab. He is also a faculty member of the Materials Research Institute at Penn State. Werner has received numerous awards for his publications and papers throughout his career. He has also been recognized with the 2015 Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Technical Achievement Award, the 2019 ACES Computational Electromagnetics Award and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Antennas and Propagation Society 2019 Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award. He was the recipient of a Penn State Engineering Alumni Society (PSEAS) Outstanding Research Award and Outstanding Teaching Award in 2000 and 2002, respectively. He was also presented with an IEEE Central Pennsylvania Section Millennium Medal. In 2009, he received the PSEAS Premier Research Award. He is a fellow of the IEEE, the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the Optical Society and ACES. He is also a senior member of the National Academy of Inventors, the International Society for Optics and Photonics and the International Union of Radio Science (URSI).

Werner is a former associate editor of Radio Science, a former editor of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine, an editorial board member of Scientific Reports (a Nature subjournal), an editorial board member for EPJ Applied Metamaterials, editor for the IEEE Press Series on Electromagnetic Wave Theory & Applications, a member of URSI Commissions B and G, Eta Kappa Nu, Tau Beta Pi and Sigma Xi. He holds 20 patents, has published more than 870 technical papers and proceedings articles and is the author of five books and 30 book chapters with several additional chapters and two more books currently in production. 


(Media Contacts)

Last Updated June 02, 2020