New Remote Research seminar series to begin April 14

April 09, 2020

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The University Libraries, in collaboration with Penn State Information Technology, the Institute for Computational and Data Sciences (ICDS) and the Office of the Associate CIO for Research, is presenting a series of free webinars to assist researchers with shifting their research from onsite to offsite.

The “Enabling Remote Research” Seminar Series highlights various University services and infrastructure to support remote research, including strategies for remote project management, data transfer, analytics, GIS, citation management, data management, visualization, cloud computing, and high-performance computing (HPC).

Advance registration is required. For more information and to register, visit: https://libraries.psu.edu/remote-research-webinar-series

Following is a schedule of webinar topics and dates:

Tuesday, April 14 — Series Introduction/Organizing and Managing Remote Teams

Wednesday, April 22 — Working Remotely with Geospatial Data and Mapping Projects

Tuesday, April 28 — Zotero: Collect, Organize, Cite, and Share

Wednesday, May 6 — Remote Options for Computation and Storage

Tuesday, May 12 — Managing and Organizing Citations with Mendeley

Tuesday, May 19 — Active Data Management

Wednesday, May 20 — Statistical Software Choices: Get Your Data Analysis Done at Home, and Providing Access to Your Research Data via the Penn State Data Commons

Tuesday, May 26 — Choosing a Citation Manager: Which One Should I Use? and Public Cloud Services for Researchers

Wednesday, June 3 — ICDS Remote Research Computing Services

Wednesday, June 10 — Data Analysis and Visualization with Tableau and Power BI

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated April 28, 2020