Education dean, faculty members elected to key posts within AERA

March 05, 2020

College of Education Dean Kimberly A. Lawless was elected American Education Research Association (AERA) division vice president for Division C: Learning & Instruction. Lawless' three-year term will run from 2021 to 2024.

In addition, several College of Education faculty members were elected to posts in AERA special interest groups (SIGs):

  • Hollie Kulago, treasurer, Critical Issues in Curriculum and Cultural Studies, SIG #28. Her two-year term begins this year.
  • Soo-yong Byun, program chair, Sociology of Education, SIG #112. His one-year term begins this year.
  • Amy Crosson, program chair-elect, Vocabulary, SIG #133. Her one-year term begins this year.
  • Dana Stuchul, chair, Ivan Illich, SIG #161. Her one-year term begins this year.
  • Madhu Suri Prakash, secretary/treasurer, Ivan Illich, SIG #161. Her one-year term begins this year.

The American Educational Research Association (AERA), a national research society, strives to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good. Their annual meeting is scheduled for April 17-21 in San Francisco, California.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated March 25, 2020