Engineering faculty, staff, alumni to be honored for exceptional contributions

September 11, 2019

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Faculty, staff and alumni of the Penn State College of Engineering will be recognized for their outstanding teaching, research, advising and service at a 2 p.m. ceremony on Oct. 21 in the Hintz Family Alumni Center on Penn State's University Park campus.

The annual awards are sponsored by the Penn State Engineering Alumni Society.

The Outstanding Teaching Award will be given to Esther Gomez, associate professor of chemical engineering and biomedical engineering; Paris Von Lockette, associate professor of mechanical engineering; and Ming Xiao, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering.

Sven Schmitz, associate professor of aerospace engineering, will receive the Premier Teaching Award.

The Outstanding Research Award will be presented to Sean Hallgren, professor of computer science and engineering; Li Li, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering; Vishal Monga, associate professor of electrical engineering; Yong Wang, professor of biomedical engineering; and Andrew Zydney, Bayard D. Kunkle Chair and professor of chemical engineering.

Seong Kim, professor of chemical engineering, will be honored with the Premier Research Award.

The World-Class Engineering Faculty Award will be given to Timothy Simpson, Paul Morrow Professor of Engineering Design and Manufacturing.

The Outstanding Advising Award will be presented to Somayeh Asadi, assistant professor of architectural engineering; Lucas Passmore, associate teaching professor of engineering science and mechanics; and Sarah Root, associate teaching professor of industrial and manufacturing engineering.

Holly Seidel, administrative support coordinator in architectural engineering, is the recipient of the Dean’s Circle of Excellence Award.

The Outstanding Staff Award will be given to Lindsey Garner, administrative support coordinator in the Leonhard Center for the Enhancement of Engineering Education and education and graduate professional programs; Amy Long, administrative support coordinator in civil and environmental engineering; and Lisa Petrine, department head staff assistant in industrial and manufacturing engineering.

Yvonne Wang, administrative support assistant in electrical engineering, will receive the Equity and Inclusion Award.

The Staff Innovation Award will be presented to Diane Haldeman, programmer/analyst in the Penn State Facilities Engineering Institute.

Aaron Myers, building services clerk in facilities administration, will be honored with the Spirit Award.

The Rising Star Award goes to Anand Swaminathan, research technologist in architectural engineering.

Alyshia Dann, financial coordinator in electrical engineering, will receive the Staff Leadership Award.

The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Terri Green and Karen Sweeney. Green is the retired director of global project management at Abbott Laboratories. She is a 1981 Penn State alumna holding a bachelor’s degree in industrial engineering. Sweeney is general manager of Turner Construction Co. She is a 1980 Penn State alumna holding a bachelor of architectural engineering degree.

Ryan Solnosky, associate teaching professor of architectural engineering, will be honored with the Lawrence J. Perez Memorial Student Advocate Award.

The Young Alumni Achievement Award recipient is Marta Hatzell, assistant professor of mechanical engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. Hatzell received a bachelor of science in mechanical engineering, a master’s degree in mechanical engineering, a master of engineering in environmental engineering and a doctoral degree in mechanical engineering.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated September 24, 2019