Society for Prevention Research honors Diana Fishbein with Presidential Award

June 07, 2019

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Diana Fishbein, professor of human development and family studies and director of the Program for Translational Research on Adversity and Neuroscience at Penn State, received the Presidential Award from the Society for Prevention Research (SPR) at its annual meeting May 30 in San Francisco.

The award is given to an individual or a team of individuals who have made a major specific contribution to prevention science research. The honor is intended to be a “lifetime achievement” award for a significant body of research or theory in any area related to prevention that has had a major impact on the field.

“Diana’s leadership is exemplified by her role as director of the National Prevention Science Coalition to Improve Lives, which she co-founded, and through developing influential communications for policymakers and the general public that showcase the relevance of findings from prevention science to improve the health and well-being of vulnerable populations,” said Leslie Leve, president of the Society for Prevention Research.

"I am beyond thrilled to receive this award, and hope this recognition motivates others to join in the process of translating prevention research for end-users, including community stakeholders, policymakers, practitioners and the public,” said Fishbein.

Fishbein is an expert in behavioral neuroscience and transdisciplinary methods. Her research is based on a developmental approach to understanding ways in which interactions between neurobiological mechanisms and environmental contexts alter trajectories either toward or away from risk behaviors in disadvantaged populations. Her studies suggest that compensatory mechanisms can be strengthened with appropriately targeted psychosocial interventions. The ultimate goal of her work is to translate scientific findings to the design and scale up of more effective practices and policies that will prevent mental health, emotional and behavioral problems from developing. 

She joins Mark Greenberg, founding director of the Edna Bennett Pierce Prevention Research Center and Edna Peterson Bennett Endowed Chair in Prevention, as center researchers who have received this honor. She also received the SPR Public Service Award in 2018 and the SPR Translational Science award in 2017.

Last Updated June 08, 2021