Penn State Fayette students honored at annual awards banquet

April 29, 2019

LEMONT FURNACE, Pa. — Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus, held the 53rd annual Student Awards Banquet on April 26 at the Community Center for a crowd of over 200 campus community members, family, and friends. The banquet recognizes students who demonstrate academic persistence, leadership, service, athletic participation, campus involvement, or community engagement over the academic year.

Penn State Fayette congratulates the following award recipients.


  • Administration of Justice Student of the Year Award: Lucas Tabacsko
  • James E. Work Memorial Award in Agriculture: Blake Victor
  • Jerome Joseph Guzy Memorial Art Award: Anna Elko, Painting “Moods"; Kaitlyn Wilson, Drawing “Vintage Portrait”
  • David Hyatt Snyder Award in Business: Ross Mazer
  • Associates in Business Student of the Year Award: Keara Gonzalez
  • Bachelors of Science in Business Student of the Year Award: Justin Rockwell, Shelly Volosin
  • Engineering Technology Student of the Year Award: Ian Megela
  • Math Student of the Year Award: Keaton Wright
  • Physical Therapy Student of the Year Award: Nicholas Morgan
  • Project and Supply Chain Management Student of the Year Award: Peggy Miltenberger
  • Psychology Student of the Year Award: Samantha Long


Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award: Taylor White

Established in 1971, the Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award recognizes students from each of the Penn State Undergraduate Campuses whose outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership, and citizenship have positively influenced the campus and University community.

President’s Freshman Award: Haley Costello, Maria Gresh, Gwyneth Komula, Jessica Mahoney, Kirstin Rozell, Maria Schultheis, Chelsey Taylor, Lucas White

The President’s Freshman Award is presented annually to students who have earned a 4.00 cumulative grade-point average based on at least 12 graded credits.

President Sparks Award: Matthew Baker, Joseph DeCicco

The President Sparks Award is presented annually to students who have earned a 4.00 cumulative grade-point average based on at least 36 graded credits.

Evan Pugh Scholar Award: Julia Gaggiani, Samantha Long, Taylor White

The Evan Pugh Scholar Award is presented to juniors and seniors who are in the upper 0.5 percent of their respective classes and have completed at least 48 graded Penn State credits.


David J. Leone Memorial Leadership Award: Jarrod Sutton

The David J. Leone Memorial Leadership Award honors outstanding leadership in an on-campus student organization by an undergraduate engineering student.

Dennis Hippo Memorial Award: Kaylee Aaron, Noah Michael

Established in 1970, the Dennis Hippo Memorial Award recognizes students who exemplify the attributes of Dennis Hippo in the areas of leadership, academic persistence, engagement, service, and altruism.

Drozd Family Humanitarian Assistance and Community Service Award: Louis Gonzales

The Drozd Family Humanitarian Assistance and Community Service Award recognizes outstanding achievement by undergraduate students who have given of themselves by performing community service and/or humanitarian assistance to their community, state, country and/or other nations affected by catastrophic natural events.

Port Family Public Service Award: Emily Blaker

The Port Family Public Service Award recognizes a student who has volunteered or assisted in public service programs within the campus or regional community.

Student Excellence Award: Samantha Long, “The Role of Self-regulation in Moderating the Relationship between Traumatic Life Events and Student GPA.”

Finalist, Kaylee Aaron and Andrea Suter, “Job Satisfaction, Burnout, and Long Hours Among Nurses in Local Hospitals.”

Finalist, Michelle Yezek, “It’s More Okay to Cheat in an Online Class.”

The Student Excellence Award recognizes students who compete in a rigorous written and oral academic research presentation.

Club of the Year Award: Christian Club

The Club of the Year Award recognizes a student-run organization that has contributing outstanding service to the campus, regional, and/or global community.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated April 29, 2019