William Bahnfleth receives ASHRAE E.K. Campbell Award

October 24, 2018

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. —William P. Bahnfleth, professor of architectural engineering, will be recognized by the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) as the 2019 recipient of the E.K. Campbell Award. The annual award is given to an ASHRAE member for outstanding service and achievement in teaching in an accredited engineering or engineering technology program.

E.K. Campbell, a skilled engineer and businessman, was a very active member in the American Society of Heating and Ventilating Engineers, one of the predecessor societies that merged to form ASHRAE in 1959. He was a founding member and officer of the ASHRAE Life Members Club (LMC) — for members at least 65 years of age who have been society members for at least 30 years — which funds the award through member contributions and named it in Campbell’s honor.

Headshot of William Bahnfleth

William P. Bahnfleth

IMAGE: Provided

Bahnfleth expressed the significant importance of receiving the award and impacting Penn State Department of Architectural students and alumni that shape the built industry.

“It is highly meaningful to me to receive this recognition of my work as an educator from the most respected organization in the world in my field,” he said. “In the academic culture of engineering, it is important to recognize accomplishment in teaching as a reminder that it should be our first priority, even at research universities.”

Bahnfleth shared that he feels humbled to have received an award given previous recipients he respects and admires.

“I am especially honored to be included among a group that includes some of the most consequential academics of the past 60 years in my field — people like Seichi Konzo and Wilbert Stoecker from my alma mater, the University of Illinois — who are both members of the ASHRAE Hall of Fame, as well as others,” he said.

The award has been given to past Penn State Department of Architectural Engineering professors such as former ASHRAE President John Everetts Jr. in 1970, former ASHRAE President Stanley Gilman in 1978, Stanley Mumma in 1988, and David Meredith of Penn State Fayette in 2008.

As a recipient, Bahnfleth will be presented with a plaque and an honorarium of $10,000 at the ASHRAE 2019 Winter Conference in Atlanta in January. Additionally, he will give an address to the LMC.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated October 31, 2018