EdVenture 2018 provides adventures in learning

HERSHEY, Pa. — Faculty from Penn State College of Medicine gathered to celebrate the college’s accomplishments and educational activities during EdVenture 2018 on April 19 at Historic Acres of Hershey. The event featured awards, workshops and lecturers from the University of Toronto’s Wilson Centre.

With the theme “Learning Together,” EdVenture gave College of Medicine faculty members the opportunity to interact with 2018 Woodward Lecturers Nicole Wood and Maria Mylopoulos. Woods, associate director of operations at the Wilson Centre, presented “How We Know What Isn’t So: Reconsidering the Value of Basic Science,” while Mylopoulos, Wilson Centre associate director of training programs, discussed “Preparing Learners to be the Experts We Need.”

Other workshops and presentations featured topics such as end-of-life care options, engaging students in active learning and narrative medicine.

Dr. Craig Hillemeier, dean of Penn State College of Medicine, CEO of Penn State Health and senior vice president of health affairs for Penn State, kicked off the evening awards presentation.

Drs. Todd Felix, Jed Gonzalo and Tiffany Whitcomb received the 2018 Distinguished Educator Awards for their exceptional work as faculty members and mentors. Felix serves as director of core clinical medicine, overseeing the clinical phases of training for the College of Medicine, where he developed innovative objective structured clinical examinations as well as leading the transition to a new clerkship model.

Gonzalo is associate dean for health systems education and leads several curricula for students, residents and faculty. He is an active mentor, working with more than 20 students, residents and faculty per year.

Whitcomb is associate director of the Animal Resources Program, director of the Laboratory Animal Medicine Training Program and director of the Responsible Care and Use of Laboratory Animals Training Program. She also serves as co-director of the Students as Educators elective for fourth-year medical students.

Junior Faculty Teaching Awards went to David DeGraff and Dr. Jarrett Sell for their work with a variety of learners across programs.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated May 09, 2018