Association for Women in Sports Media honors Penn State chapter as nation's best

May 07, 2018

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The Penn State branch of the Association for Women in Sports Media was named the national organization’s student chapter of the year on Monday (May 7).

“This group serves as a model for what our student chapters can accomplish,” Katie McInerney, AWSM’s vice president of student programs, said in a statement announcing the honor. “The young women in charge have been organized, consistent and ambitious, and the depth of programming is impressive.”

The Penn State chapter was recognized for its superior programming, including a visit to campus from Gayle Sierens, the first woman to call play-by-play for a network broadcast of an NFL game, and a trip to Pittsburgh during which students toured Heinz Field, met with women in the Steelers organization, and hosted a panel with women in local media. AWSM members from West Virginia University joined the group at Penn State’s invitation.

“I’m absolutely ecstatic that our chapter was selected this year,” outgoing Penn State AWSM president Katie Kemmerer said. “To be recognized for the hard work put in not only this year, but also previous years, makes me extremely proud of everyone who’s helped the chapter prosper. Our members have a passion that exemplifies AWSM’s message and, with the help of our advisers, I know this chapter will have years of continued success.”

AWSM (pronounced “awesome”) was founded in 1987 as a support network and advocacy group for women who work in sports media. The group began honoring student chapters in 2013, and this marks the first time Penn State has earned the chapter of the year award. There are currently 17 student chapters listed on the AWSM national website.

“We’ve been fortunate to have great student leadership since the chapter started five years ago,” said John Affleck, director of the John Curley Center for Sports Journalism and the faculty adviser to the group.

“Our presidents, in particular, have really worked to build a supportive community for young women interested in sports media. That group includes our founder, Megan Flood, now with ESPN; Caitlyn Cossu, now with the Pittsburgh Steelers; Anita Nham, now with the NCAA; and of course our 2017-18 president, Katie Kemmerer, who is about to step into a job with the Kansas City Chiefs.

“We also have to thank our longtime professional adviser and Penn State football reporter, Audrey Snyder, and our first faculty adviser, Lori Shontz, a Penn State alumna now teaching at the University of Oregon.”

Leaders of the Penn State chapter will accept the award at AWSM’s national convention, scheduled June 21-24 in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Last Updated May 07, 2018