College of IST recognizes outstanding faculty and staff with annual awards

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — On April 27, the College of Information Sciences and Technology celebrated the achievements of faculty and staff over the past year with a presentation of annual awards. Held at the Hintz Family Alumni Center, 11 staff and faculty members were recognized with annual awards and 17 individuals were recognized for length-of-service awards.

Those recognized included:

University-wide awards

Faculty Scholar Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Social and Behavioral Sciences — Jack Carroll, distinguished professor

George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching — Fred Fonseca, associate professor

Faculty awards

  • Raymond G. Tronzo, M.D. Professorship in Cybersecurity — Peng Liu, professor
  • Junior Faculty Excellence in Research Award — David Reitter, assistant professor
  • Senior Faculty Excellence in Research Award — Mary Beth Rosson, professor
  • George J. McMurtry Faculty Excellence in Teaching and Learning Award — David Fusco, assistant teaching professor

Faculty and staff awards

  • Community Award — Michelle Corby, assistant dean, Office of Academic Services
  • Susan B. Lucas Diversity Award — Rita Griffith, assistant director, Office of Career Solutions and Corporate Engagement

Staff awards

  • Customer Service Award — Cindy Bierly, administrative support coordinator, Office of Graduate and Undergraduate Studies
  • Rising Star Award — Sharon Lazarow, administrative support assistant, Office of Academic Services
  • Dean’s Circle of Excellence Award — Jeanie Peritz, director, Office of Undergraduate Advising

Twenty-five years of service to Penn State

  • Lisa Crownover, coordinator, Office of Facilities
  • Jeanie Peritz, director, Office of Undergraduate Advising

Fifteen years of service to the College of IST:

  • Kelly Bryan, marketing communications specialist, Office of Communications and Marketing
  • Amy Garbrick, director, Office of Learning Design
  • Dongwon Lee, associate professor
  • Peng Liu, professor
  • Carleen Maitland, associate professor
  • Andrea Tapia, associate professor

Ten years of service to the College of IST:

  • Col. Jake Graham, professor of practice
  • Shannon Johnson, assistant director, Office of Information Technology
  • Shelie Rice, analysis and planning consultant, Office of Undergraduate Advising
  • Anna Squicciarini, associate professor
  • Peggy Stanton, events coordinator, Office of Events

Five years of service to the College of IST:

  • Chris Gamrat, instructional designer, Office of Learning Design
  • Zhenhui (Jessie) Li, associate professor
  • David Reitter, assistant professor
  • Zihan Zhou, assistant professor

For more information about the College of Information Sciences and Technology, visit


Last Updated April 30, 2018