CFW accepting nominations for Rosemary Schraer Mentoring, Achieving Women awards

December 08, 2017

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Each year, the Commission for Women (CFW) recognizes an exceptional mentor in the University community and celebrates women who have shown remarkable professionalism and leadership at Penn State. Nominations are currently being sought for two awards: the Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award and the Achieving Women Award.

To submit nominations, visit Submissions are due no later than Thursday, Feb. 8, 2018.

Recipients selected for these awards will be honored at the commission's 12th annual luncheon, which will be held from noon to 1:30 p.m. on Friday, April 13, 2018, at the Penn Stater Hotel and Conference Center on the University Park campus.

The Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award is presented each spring to a University employee, regardless of gender, who exemplifies Schraer's giving of herself as a mentor and who has voluntarily, over a period of time, helped others recognize and achieve their potential. Consideration is given to employees (administrators, faculty, technical service, or staff members) who have a record of outstanding mentoring service that goes beyond the requirements of their employment duties and responsibilities.

The Achieving Women Award recognizes seven Penn State women who have shown notable leadership and accomplishment in their fields, and have gone beyond the requirements of employment duties and responsibilities in their support of the University’s diversity efforts, promotion of equal opportunity, or contribution to humanitarian causes and public service activities. These awards are presented to current Penn State employees and students from each of the following categories: faculty, staff exempt, staff nonexempt, administrator, technical service, and undergraduate and graduate students (including postdoctoral fellows and scholars).

For more information, contact CFW Awards Committee co-chairs Daad Rizk at or Nicole Hurlbutt at

Last Updated December 11, 2017