Penn State statement on Supreme Court order on Trump travel ban

December 05, 2017

On Dec. 4, the U.S. Supreme Court issued an order allowing President Donald Trump’s travel policy, which suspends entry into the United States for certain residents of eight countries, to go into full effect while lower courts continue to review legal challenges to the policy.

Generally, the policy, announced by presidential proclamation, bars most citizens of Iran, Libya, Syria, Chad, Yemen, North Korea, and Somalia, and certain groups of people from Venezuela, from traveling to the United States.  The policy does not apply to lawful permanent residents of the U.S. or those holding a valid U.S. visa issued prior to the proclamation’s effective date. Details of the travel restrictions vary by country.

“As we have said many times in the past, Penn State fully supports all members of its academic community, regardless of their country of origin,” said Nick Jones, University provost and executive vice president. “Their contributions have enriched the Penn State community on numerous levels, and they continue to make a positive impact on our mission of research, teaching, service and economic development.”

According to Michael Adewumi, vice provost for Global Programs, Penn State currently hosts more than 10,000 international students and scholars from more than 141 countries.

Adewumi said that any faculty, staff or students who have concerns regarding individual situations or their upcoming travel plans abroad, should contact the Office of Global Programs at 814-865-7681 or an adviser to discuss the circumstances.

To review the details about the proclamation, visit the White House’s fact sheet and frequently asked questions. In addition, the original press release can be found here.

Other useful information for Penn Staters can be found here:

-       The Center for Immigrants’ Rights at Penn State Law:

Resources and links:



Last Updated December 05, 2017