Barkley named Camp award finalist

Junior running back Saquon Barkley is among the five finalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award. He is joined by Stanford’s Bryce Love, San Diego State’s Rashaad Penny, Louisville’s Lamar Jackson and Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield on the list of finalists.

The 2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 7 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter. The winner will be honored at the Walter Camp Football Foundation banquet Saturday, January 13. 

The Walter Camp Trophy is awarded to the outstanding player of the year who has exemplified the qualities of self-discipline, unselfish team play, desire to excel, mature judgement and respect for leadership. He must be a dedicated competitor who has made effective use of his athletic talent to enhance the great American game of college football. His standout performance on the playing field must be accompanied by an equally strong effort to contribute to the betterment of the life of all his fellow human beings. He must exhibit an awareness of the need to fulfill his role as a leader. He must espouse the ideals adhered to by Walter Camp, the “Father of American Football.” 

Penn State has two Walter Camp winners in running back John Cappelletti, who won the award in 1973, and tailback Larry Johnson, who claimed the honor in 2002.

Last Updated December 01, 2017