Students and local businesses to benefit from annual event

SCHUYLKILL, Pa. -- Selected Penn State Schuylkill students from various academic disciplines and area business leaders and professionals will participate in the annual Student Highlighting Luncheon at noon, Tuesday, Oct. 17.

This annual event, organized by the campus’ Student Professionalization Committee, presents a venue for students to interact with professionals in their discipline and provides the potential for student internships.

Internships, capstone projects, study abroad and other experiential learning opportunities are an integral part of a Penn State Schuylkill education.

“The luncheon is the exact opposite of job shadowing,” said Cathy Fiorillo, assistant professor of theatre arts and co-chair of the Student Professionalization Committee. “In this case, employers have the opportunity to see a student excel in his or her field of study via a one-on-one connection that hopefully will lead to an internship with the student’s discipline.”

This is the seventh year that the committee has organized and hosted the luncheon. Every year students have benefited from outstanding internship opportunities facilitated by these events. Businesses and professional organizations represented this year include Ateeco, Inc. (Mrs. T’s Pierogies), the Community Mission Church, the County of Schuylkill, Evans Delivery Company, MI Windows and Doors, LLC, Rosewood Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, the Schuylkill Chamber of Commerce, the Schuylkill County Council for the Arts, the Schuylkill Haven Area School District, Silberline Manufacturing Co., Wegmans Distribution Center, Inc. and others.

As the luncheon provides opportunities to qualified students through in-person interaction with local business leaders and other professionals for potential internships, it serves three additional purposes: exposes students to a larger scope of career paths; increases awareness of career requirements; and aids or enhances the career paths of Penn State Schuylkill students.

Elinor Madigan, assistant professor of information sciences and technology, serves as the committee’s co-chair along with Fiorillo.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated September 29, 2017