College of Medicine graduate students hold oath and awards ceremonies

HERSHEY, Pa. — Seventy-eight incoming graduate students pursuing DrPH, MPH, MS, or PhD degrees at Penn State College of Medicine recently participated in the annual Graduate Student Oath Ceremony.

During the Aug. 18 ceremony, the students took an oath to uphold the values of integrity, professionalism and scholarship throughout their academic careers. The oath was developed nine years ago by a group of College of Medicine graduate students who spent a year crafting it until they were able to articulate the best expression of Penn State values.

Lisa M. Shantz, associate professor of cellular and molecular physiology, provided the keynote address. Symbolic of their initiation into the community of biomedical scientists, first-year PhD students received white lab coats and master's students received a special gift.

An awards ceremony recognizing current graduate student achievements immediately followed the ceremony. Following is a list of award recipients.

Graduate Alumni Endowed Scholarship and the Class of 1971 and 1974 Awards: for individuals who have achieved exemplary academic records, and have additionally provided their colleagues and our community with examples of involvement above and beyond the expected. 

Jocelyn Tang (BMS)

Kathleen Schieffer (BMS)

Phillip Domeier (BMS)

Christopher Dower (Molecular Medicine)

Ryan Yoast (BMS)

Nathalie Fuentes (BMS)

Nick Parekh (BMS)

Caitlin Nealon (BMS)

Jillian Weissenreider (BMS)

Taryn Mockus (NEURO)

Saumya Maru (MD/PhD)

Robert Nwokonko (BMS)

Stephanie Schell (BMS)

Graduate Alumni Endowed Scholarship: these awards recognize the contributions to our campus that have had a positive impact on their graduate colleagues and classmates. Specifically, these students are extremely active in student organizations and activities that contribute to the graduate experience at the College of Medicine.

Ian Hayman (GSA president)

Amanda White (Research Forum, chair)

Emily Kostek (PHASE co-president 2017)

Anna-Marie Warrington (PHASE co-president 2017)

Jessica Parascando (PHASE president 2016)

Karl H. Beyer Jr., M.D., Ph.D. Scholarship: these awards recognize academic excellence and leadership.

Amelia  Ubesie  (DrPH)

Caitlin Millett (NEURO)

Anna Ssentongo (MPH)

Alissa Coffey (BMS)

Praneet Sandhu (BMS)

Gary Farkas (ANAT)

Kristin Lambert (MD/PhD)

Erum Azhar (MPH)

Katie Sneeringer (DrPH)

Patrick G. Quinn Award: for outstanding performance by a post-comprehensive PhD candidate in the department of Cellular & Molecular Physiology.

Olivia Rivera (Physiology)

The following students were nominated by their peers as an acknowledgement of their contributions to our campus, to the community, and to our disciplines. 

Brian Chiou

Cecilia Bove

Prashanth Gokare

Rachel Stanford

Jaclyn Welles

The College of Medicine also runs a number of summer research internship projects for undergraduate students. These programs would not be nearly as successful if not for the participation and support of our graduate students that act as Junior Mentors. For their work this past summer, these students are recognized for their excellence.

Rob Nwokonko

Alissa Meister

Nathalie Fuentes

Melanie Eshelman

Brian Chiou

Cecilia Bove

Michelle Tutunik

Matthew Lauver

Heather Schmitz

Jacob Hornick

Jesica James

Caitlin Nealon

Emily Blanke

Jillian Weissenreider

Courtney Clyburn

Erin Tyndall

Joel Coble

Elisabeta Blandin

Shauna Ebanks

Scott Tucker

Michelle Douthitt

Amanda White

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated September 05, 2017