Society for Prevention Research honors Penn State researchers

Kristie Auman-Bauer
May 17, 2017

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Two Penn State researchers will be honored by the Society for Prevention Research at its 25th annual meeting on June 1 in Washington DC.

Diana Fishbein, director of the Edna Bennett Pierce Prevention Research Center and professor of human development and family studies, is being named a Society for Prevention Research (SPR) Fellow for her substantial body of work that has made a significant impact on prevention science.

The SPR Fellows program was established by the SPR Board of Directors in 2012, with the first cohort announced in 2013. Fishbein joins the College of Health and Human Development’s prior awardees: John W. Graham, professor of biobehavioral health and human development and family studies; Linda Collins, distinguished professor of human development and family studies and statistics and director of The Methodology Center; and Mark T. Greenberg, professor of human development and psychology, Edna Peterson Bennett Endowed Chair in Prevention Research, and founding director of the Prevention Research Center.

Mark Feinberg, research professor of health and human development, will receive the 2017 SPR Prevention Science Award. He is being recognized for his outstanding contributions to advancing the field of prevention science, especially his work in family and community prevention.

The SPR Prevention Science Award is given to an individual or team of individuals for a significant body of research that has applied scientific methods to test one or more preventive interventions or policies.  This award recognizes the work of developing and testing prevention strategies. Other Penn State recipients of the Prevention Science Award include Mark Greenberg; Robert Turrisi, professor of biobehavioral health; and Karen Bierman, Evan Pugh Professor of Psychology.

Fishbein’s and Feinberg’s work has been supported by the Prevention Research Center and the Social Science Research Institute at Penn State.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated May 12, 2020