Behrend students recognized at 68th annual Honors and Awards Convocation

April 10, 2017

Academic excellence at Penn State Behrend was recognized Sunday, April 9, at the campus' 68th annual Honors and Awards Convocation.

The convocation, which honored 312 students, is Penn State Behrend’s second-oldest tradition after Hanging of the Greens, a tribute to the Behrend family that is held every December. Recipients of the major awards for the 2016-17 academic year were:


Archie K. Loss Undergraduate Honors Thesis Award Martha Larkin, Pittsburgh; Alex Lyon, Fairview, Pa.; Yuanheng Wang, Kumming, China

Outstanding First-Year Student John McDermitt Jr., Bridgeville, Pa.

Penn State Behrend Council of Fellows Undergraduate Research Award Mary Beth Burbules, Erie; Scott DeLaney, Leeper, Pa.

Division of Undergraduate Studies Award, First Year Sydnee White, Albion, Pa.

Division of Undergraduate Studies Award, Second Year Benjamin Homan, Erie

Outstanding Tutor Award, Business McKenna Aleksivich, Clearfield, Pa.

Outstanding Tutor Award, Engineering Samantha Muhhuku, Westlands, Nairobi

Outstanding Tutor Award, Mathematics Mitchell Smithbauer, St. Marys, Pa.

Outstanding Tutor Award, Science Tyler Summers, Williamsport, Pa.

Outstanding Tutor Award, Writing Kat Giordano, Springfield, Pa.


Accounting Chris Martone, Erie

Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants (PICPA) Award Nicole Overby, Erie

Institute of Management Accounting (IMA) Award Meredith Snyder, Parker, Pa.

Association for Supply Chain and Operations Management (APICS) Award Mitchell Eberle, Oil City, Pa.; Ryan Puchak, Lower Burrell, Pa.

Business Club Leader Natalie Szalajko, South Bend, Ind.

Business Economics/Economics Erich Busching, Cranberry Township, Pa.

Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key Award Ariana Gloeckner, Erie

ETS Major Field Test Award Kirsten McGarvey, Erie

Finance Patrick Kress, Erie

Finance, World Campus Tiare Mashima, Denver, Colo.; Elena Sarkus, Stockbridge, Ga.

Interdisciplinary Business with Engineering Studies Nathan Ropelewski, Erie

International Business Alexa Haverly, Erie

Kenneth L. Spencer Award, Accounting Andrew Buzzelli, Cranberry Township, Pa.

Kenneth L. Spencer Award, Finance Jason Pettner, Beaver Falls, Pa.

Management Information Systems Victoria Traut, Erie

Marketing Mackenzie Thompson, West Middlesex, Pa.

Master of Business Administration, Erie Taylor Lehman, Erie

Master of Business Administration, Cranberry Township Cari Hochbein, Cabot, Pa.

Professional Readiness Award Connor Combs, Corry, Pa.

Project and Supply Chain Management Taryn Testa, Cranberry Township, Pa.

Student Entrepreneur Award Wes Hall, Pittsburgh              


Corey N. Farrell Nonfiction Award Martha Larkin, Pittsburgh

Clarence A. and Eugenie Baumann Smith Fiction Award Angela Roman, North East, Pa.

Kenneth Jonathan Sonnenberg Poetry Award Kat Giordano, Springfield, Pa.

Outstanding Achievement in Communication Christa Schonthaler, Erie

Outstanding Creative Writing Major Angela Roman, North East, Pa.

Outstanding English Major Yuanheng Wang, Kumming, China

Best Contributing History Major Thomas Bucklin, Erie

Dr. John Rossi Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award Justin DeFonzo, Erie

Outstanding Political Science Major Brandon Petras, Worthington, Pa.

Zachary T. Irwin Humanitarian Award Gretchen Berry Haislip, Wilson, N.C.

Outstanding Psychology Student Taylor Morris, Bradford, Pa.; Grace Waldfogle, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Outstanding Scholarly Achievement in Psychology Emily Galeza, Erie

Myron Jones Broadcasting Award Mark Massimino, Hunker, Pa.

Outstanding Elementary and Early Childhood Education Graduate Stephanie Ruggerio, Coraopolis, Pa.


Academic Excellence in Biology Lindsey Chase, Randolph, N.Y.

Aaron Meehl Biology Award Sean Artello, Erie; Samantha Slawson, Erie

Academic Excellence in Chemistry Shannon McDonnell, Moretown, Vt.

Outstanding Freshman in Chemistry/American Chemical Society Award Lindsay Bielek, New Kensington, Pa.

Academic Excellence in Environmental Science Rose Kerr, Erie

CRC/Outstanding Freshman Tyler Hostetler, Butler, Pa.

Mathematics Competition Award Luke Mariotti, Sarver, Pa.; Oliver Miles, Philadelphia, Pa.

Academic Excellence in Mathematics Thomas Fisher, Levittown, Pa.

Most Promising Freshman in Mathematics Charles Robertson, Albion, Pa.; Yiqing Wang, Erie

Academic Excellence in Physics Chrystopher Goodteacher, North East, Pa.


Computer Engineering Aron Barker, North East, Pa.

Computer Science Austin Rausch, Erie

Electrical Engineering Daphne Cruz Hidalgo, San Pedro Sula, Honduras

Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology Amy DeWoody, Saegertown, Pa.

Industrial Engineering Anton Benedikt, Montrose, Pa.

Mechanical Engineering Jacob Elder, Stoneboro, Pa.

Mechanical Engineering Technology Brooke Colley, Jamestown, N.Y.

Plastics Engineering Technology Sara Allgeier, Waterford, Pa.

Software Engineering Rachel Rattay, Pittsburgh

Jake Boyle Memorial Award Rachel Kaschauer, South Park, Pa.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated April 10, 2017