Eighteen Graduate School doctoral alumni honored during reunion weekend

March 30, 2017

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Penn State doctoral alumni celebrating the 10th, 25th, and 50th anniversary of receiving their doctorate returned to University Park on March 25 for the Graduate School’s annual Doctoral Alumni Recognition Luncheon in Kern Graduate Building. The 18 honorees included five doctoral alumni observing their 10-year anniversary, nine commemorating their 25-year anniversary, and four who merited special distinction by joining more than 3,000 doctoral alumni who have been recognized over the years as 50th anniversary celebrants.

Speakers at the ceremony included Krishna C. Nadella, president, Graduate School Alumni Society; Paul Clifford, chief executive officer, Penn State Alumni Association; Kevin Steele, president, Penn State Alumni Association; and Regina Vasilatos-Younken, vice provost for Graduate Education and dean of the Graduate School.

“The achievements of our alumni are sources of inspiration and pride for our current graduate scholars and the entire Penn State community. Their successes are an enduring testament to the powerful role graduate education plays in preparing individuals who have contributed many of the innovations and discoveries that have fueled the nation’s economic, cultural and civic success for decades,” said Vasilatos-Younken.

The doctoral alumni honored at the recognition luncheon were:

10th-year anniversary

Sherrie Myers Bartell, public administration

Aline Gomez Maqueo Chew, biochemistry, microbiology and molecular Biology 

Julia Maresca, biochemistry, microbiology and molecular biology

Brian M. Saltsman, biobehavioral health

Marcus A. Whitehurst, educational theory and policy

25th-year anniversary

Joseph H. Clapper, curriculum and instruction

Patrick Cusatis,  business administration

Stephen C. Grado,  forest resources

Delmar R. Hart, educational administration

Raul E. Macchiavelli, statistics

Cathy A. Rusinko, business administration

James M. Trout, physiology

Jonathan M. Weiss,  mechanical engineering

Dah-Wei Yuan, metallurgy

50th-year anniversary

James L. Knestrick, psychology

Ruby L. Meis, home economics education

Kenneth C. Oosterhout, chemical engineering

David H. Spahr, educational administration

  • 25th-Year Anniversary Doctoral Alumni

    25th-Year Anniversary Doctoral Alumni

    IMAGE: Penn State
  • 10th-Year Anniversary Doctoral Alumni

    10th-Year Anniversary Doctoral Alumni

    IMAGE: Penn State
(1 of 2)
Last Updated June 21, 2017