Palmer Museum of Art announces spring 2017 Docent Choice Tours

January 17, 2017

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. —The Palmer Museum of Art is inviting the Penn State community to stop by the museum on Sundays this semester to spend an afternoon in the galleries with a docent-guided tour. Tours begin at 2 p.m. in the Christoffers Lobby and will last approximately 45 minutes. Each tour will be unique and led by a different docent, focusing on an area of their particular interest.

The tour schedule is as follows:

Susan Hirth, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "The Power of Image: Projection of Identity" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Jan. 22.

Karen Lintner, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "The Sculpture of Seymour Lipton" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Jan. 29.  

Kathy Burnham, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "Rembrandt Peale and His Contemporaries" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 5.

Sue Hutchison, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "The Ashcan School" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 12.                         

Dotty Ford, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "The Figure in Twentieth-Century American Art" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 19.

Susan McCartney, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "Contemporary Studio Glass" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 26.

Mary Ellen Litzinger, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "The Limits of Her Sphere: Women in Nineteenth-Century American Art" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, March 12.

Maureen Moses, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "Back to Basics: Elements of Art" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, March 19.

Sally Kalin, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "Americans at Work: Genre Scenes" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, March 26.  

Cathy Zangrilli, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "Paintings by Living Artists" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, April 2.

Cathy Zangrilli, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "Palmer Museum of Art 1993: Charles W. Moore" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, April 9.

Susan Toby Evans, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "California Dreaming" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, April 23.

Kathy Burnham, museum docent, will lead a Docent Choice Tour titled "Follinsbee and Friends: Bucks County Artists" at 2 p.m. on Sunday, April 30.

Exhibitions on view at the Palmer Museum of Art this spring are "Eva Watson-Schütze: Pictorialist Portraits," Jan. 10 through April 30; "Morris Blackburn: Prints and Paintings in Process," Jan. 17 through April 30; and "A Kaleidoscope of Color: Studio Glass at the Palmer," Jan. 31 through April 30.

The Palmer Museum of Art at Penn State is located on Curtin Road and admission is free. Museum hours are 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday and noon to 4 p.m. Sunday. The museum is closed Mondays and some holidays. The museum will have modified hours of noon to 4 p.m. on Saturday, March 4, through Sunday, March 12. The museum will be closed Sunday, April 16, and Monday, May 1, through Monday, Sept. 4.

  • Palmer Museum of Art announces spring 2017 Docent Choice Tours

    Spring 2017 Docent Choice Tours will take place on Sundays at 2 p.m. All ages are welcome.

    IMAGE: Penn State

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated January 17, 2017