Six faculty named Dean’s Fellows in the College of Engineering

January 12, 2017

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Six professors have been appointed to the inaugural class of Dean’s Fellows in Penn State’s College of Engineering.

The fellowship program was established to recognize significant and sustained contributions to one or more of the following areas: teaching, research and service.

“I am pleased that we are able to recognize and honor the extraordinary accomplishments of these faculty members,” said Amr Elnashai, Harold and Inge Marcus Dean of Engineering. “These fellowships serve as a demonstration of the high esteem that the College of Engineering holds the awardees in.”

The inaugural group of Dean’s Fellows includes:

  • William Hancock, professor and chair of the Intercollege Graduate Program in Bioengineering;
  • Seong Kim, professor of chemical engineering and materials science and engineering;
  • Michael Lanagan, professor of engineering science and mechanics;
  • Edward Smith, professor of aerospace engineering and director of Penn State’s Vertical Lift Research Center of Excellence;
  • Jose Ventura, professor of industrial engineering; and
  • Aylin Yener, professor of electrical engineering in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

Dean’s Fellow appointments are for a five-year period, with possibility of renewal. In addition, each fellow will receive a one-time allocation of $20,000 to advance their scholarly activities.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated January 12, 2017