College of Health and Human Development faculty honored for teaching excellence

Marjorie S. Miller
September 26, 2016

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The College of Health and Human Development recently honored a number of faculty members with the Teaching Excellence Award in recognition of their outstanding instruction and dedication to undergraduate education.

“Having faculty members who consistently provide instruction of the highest caliber is so important for our college,” said Ann C. Crouter, Raymond E. and Erin Stuart Schultz Dean in the College of Health and Human Development. “Superb teachers help attract students to our majors and play an important role in shaping the college's reputation as an excellent, student-centered learning environment.”

Award recipients are established through a review of Student Rating of Teaching Effectiveness scores, student comments, and input from others in the college.

Crouter said teachers, such as those recognized, tend to be people students pay close attention to and often have a profound impact on how students think about their fields of study, evolving areas of interest, and career plans.

Dennis Shea, associate dean for undergraduate programs and outreach in the college, and his office developed the award as a way to recognize faculty members who stand out in students’ feedback.

“I know from the many comments I have received from faculty that they appreciate the effort to draw attention to their work, and students have also shared their appreciation for the college's efforts to encourage outstanding teaching,” Shea said.

The Office of Undergraduate Programs and Outreach selected the following faculty members as the 2015-16 Teaching Excellence Award recipients:

Biobehavioral Health

JoAnn Foley-DeFiore

Marc Dingman

Laura Klein

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Sommar Chilton

Judith Creuz

Erinn Finke

Constance Kossan

Health Policy and Administration

Christina Daley

Jennifer Deutsch

Joseph Dionisio

Hospitality Management

Ruth Ann Jackson

Mitchell Lawson

Daniel Mount

Breffni Noone

John O’Neill

Jean-Pierre Ranjeva

Marja Verbeeten

Human Development and Family Studies

Sherry Corneal

Molly Countermine

Jennifer Crissman-Ishler

Elizabeth Essel

Steffany Fredman

Emily Hazlett

Ashley Jordan

Sarah Kollat

Julie States


Jonna Belanger

Alison Krajewski

Lauren Kramer

Stacey Nowicki

Megan Schuchert

Nutritional Sciences

Alison Borkowska

Shawnee Kelly

Laura Murray-Kolb

Lynn Parker-Klees

Recreation, Park and Tourism Management

Brian Soulé

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated September 27, 2016