Ten elected to serve on Alumni Council

June 01, 2016

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Ten alumni have been voted onto Alumni Council — the Penn State Alumni Association’s governing board — and will begin their terms July 1.

New members elected to serve on Alumni Council, along with their vote totals, are: C. Jay Hertzog (4,692), Kelley M. Lynch (4,152), Tracy Shillinger Riegel (4,102), William R. Scruitsky (3,869), Judy Barkus Meehan (3,726), David S. Cavanaugh (3,564), Betsy Park Haas (3,493), Ed Bardella (3,309), Liana Trigg (3,284) and John Shaffer (3,235).

Each of these 10 alumni will serve a three-year term from July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2019.

“Members of the Alumni Association have chosen 10 representatives who exemplify what it means to be a Penn Stater,” said Alumni Association CEO Paul Clifford. “I am delighted to serve this great University and her alumni alongside these devoted volunteer leaders.”

Alumni Council is an all-volunteer governing body that advises and guides the Penn State Alumni Association on programs and initiatives to uphold its mission of service and support to Penn State. Alumni members of the Alumni Association are eligible to vote in the annual election, which takes place online.

Of the 149,271 eligible voters, 10,987 voted, for a voting percentage of 7.36 percent. The turnout this year is an increase from last year’s participation of 5.58 percent. The election was administered and results were certified by Votenet Solutions Inc. of Washington, D.C.

Following is a brief biography about each newly elected Alumni Council member:

C. Jay Hertzog, ’68, ’72g, ’80g Edu, Denver, Pennsylvania; Hertzog is dean emeritus and professor of secondary education at Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania.

Kelley M. Lynch, ’87 Bus, Pittsburgh; Lynch is chief financial officer of C-leveled LLC.

Tracy Shillinger Riegel, ’85 H&HD, West Chester, Pennsylvania; Riegel is the parent of two current Schreyer Scholars and one alumna.

William R. Scruitsky, ’86 Lib, Peyton, Colorado; Scruitsky is intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance aerospace expeditionary force manager for the Air Force Space Command.

Judy Barkus Meehan, ’87 H&HD, Falls Church, Virginia; Meehan is director of development and strategic alliances for the National Organizations for Youth Safety.

David S. Cavanaugh, ’76 A&A, Philadelphia; Cavanaugh is president of LandConcepts LLC.

Betsy Park Haas, ’80 Com, Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina; Haas is associate pastor of Kitty Hawk United Methodist Church.

Ed Bardella, ’81, ’85 Hbg, Jamestown, Pennsylvania; Bardella is technical specialist for Uni Tek Technical Services.

Liana Trigg, ’15 Sci, Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania; Trigg is an account executive for IBM.

John Shaffer, ’88 Com, Las Vegas, Nevada; Shaffer is the program director and news anchor for Beasley Media Group.

In addition, and in accordance with the bylaws, the officers of the Alumni Association will be appointing 10 additional members of Alumni Council. The 10 appointments will be announced in the near future.

For more information about the Alumni Association or its Alumni Council governing board, visit alumni.psu.edu/council

  • Alumni Council

    Ten elected alumni and 10 appointed members will begin three-year terms July 1 on the Penn State Alumni Association’s governing body, Alumni Council.

    IMAGE: Penn State Alumni Association

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated June 15, 2016