Acoustics students honored for exceptional research articles

April 25, 2016

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Ten students in Penn State’s graduate program in acoustics were recognized at the annual acoustics awards luncheon held April 22 at the Nittany Lion Inn.

This year’s luncheon was the culmination of the program’s 50th anniversary.

Victor Sparrow, director of the graduate program in acoustics, delivered welcome remarks and Regina Vasilatos-Younken, vice provost for graduate education and dean of the Graduate School, served as the keynote speaker.

The Kenneth T. Simowitz Memorial Award recognizes superior work in one of the following areas: a written article published in a refereed journal; other scholarly work such as a film, patent, editorial or creative work; or a professional activity in the acoustics field.

Three students received the award: Whitney Coyle, David Dick and Martin Lawless.

The Simowitz Memorial Citation Award recognizes a special honorable mention for students whose work appears in written proceedings of major conferences, who participate in special exhibits or poster sessions, and/or who present invited papers at technical meetings.

The five recipients are: Wesley Axtell, Matthew Neal, Joshua Palmer, Erik Petersen and Joseph Schneiderwind.

The Eugen J. Skudrzyk Memorial Award is given to outstanding graduate students at Penn State who conduct research and publish on the relationship between complex vibratory structures and the surrounding acoustic environment.

This year’s awardees are Philip Feurtado and Anand Swaminathan.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated April 25, 2016