CLGBTE announces service award winners

April 18, 2016

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Each year the Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Equity (CLGBTE) recognizes the contributions of individuals in the Penn State community throughout the Commonwealth who have shown outstanding service and academic achievement in the areas of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) advocacy and scholarship. While there are many who work tirelessly throughout the academic year for the LGBTQ community, the Outstanding Service and Academic Achievement awards recognize individuals who have made particularly significant contributions to the Penn State LGBTQ population. 

The 2016 honorees will receive their awards at the 25th anniversary Gala at The Nittany Lion Inn on April 21. The following individuals will be recognized:

2016 Outstanding Service Award: Faculty
Anthony R. D’Augelli, professor of human development

2016 Outstanding Service Award: Staff
Bekah Saidman-Krauss, assistant dean for admissions and financial aid, Penn State Dickinson Law
Barbara L. Welshofer, senior diversity planning analyst, Office of the Vice Provost for Educational Equity

2016 Outstanding Service Award: Student
Brett Atanasio, law student, Penn State Law

2016 Academic Achievement Award: Faculty
Christopher Reed, professor of English and visual culture

2016 Academic Achievement Award: Student
Alphonso Walter Grant, graduate student, art education and African American and diaspora studies

The commission will also be honoring the life, spirit and accomplishments of Penn State student Eli Roe.

To learn more about CLGBTE, visit

Last Updated May 10, 2016