Men's basketball to meet Boston College in 2015 Big Ten/ACC Challenge

May 14, 2015

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- The Penn State men's basketball team will take on Boston College in the annual Big Ten/ACC Challenge, ESPN announced Wednesday. The Nittany Lions and Eagles will meet Wednesday, Dec. 2, in BC's Conte Forum with the game being broadcast by either ESPN, ESPN2 or ESPNU.

Penn State and Boston College have met twice in the Challenge with the teams splitting meetings in 2011 and 2012. The Lions won, 62-54, in their last trip to the Conte Forum in 2011. They are 6-7 all-time vs. the Eagles and 3-3 as the road team, in a series dating back to 1967.

Penn State has won five of its last eight Big Ten/ACC Challenge games and holds a 6-8 record in 14 Challenge appearances. The Big Ten has retained the Challenge cup for each of the last six seasons after winning eight of 14 games. The Challenge was a tie (6-6) in each of the previous two seasons with the title remaining with the Big Ten after it had won for the previous three years in a row. 

ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will combine to televise all 14 games of the event matching top college basketball programs playing for conference supremacy and the Commissioner's Cup. All 14 games also will be available via WatchESPN.

Boston College marks the fourth officially-announced Penn State opponent of the 2015-16 season. The Nittany Lions will host DePaul Nov. 17 in the Bryce Jordan Center in the inaugural Gavitt Tipoff Games, in addition to facing Drexel in the Palestra and George Washington in Washington, D.C., both in December. The latter two games are each part of a two-game series that began last season.

Penn State went 12-1 through the non-conference slate in 2014, producing the most wins before league play in program history and racking up the longest win streak in nearly 20 years (10). The Nittany Lions finished last season with the best non-conference RPI in the Big Ten and No. 9 in Division I.

Penn State in the B1G/ACC Challenge
2014   Virginia Tech -- W, 61-58
2013   at Pittsburgh -- L, 78-69
2012   Boston College -- L, 73-61
2011   at Boston College -- W, 62-54
2010   Maryland -- L, 62-39
2009   at Virginia -- W, 69-67
2008   at Georgia Tech -- W, 85-83
2007   Virginia Tech -- W, 66-61
2006   at Georgia Tech -- L, 77-73
2005   Clemson -- L, 96-88
2004   Did not participate
2003   Did not participate
2002   at Clemson -- L, 79-70
2001   Clemson -- L, 79-66
2000   at N.C. State -- L, 84-76
1999   Clemson -- W, 85-75

Last Updated May 14, 2015