Department of Biobehavioral Health names undergraduate scholarship recipients

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Penn State Department of Biobehavioral Health (BBH) students Rhoda Moise and Bethany Latten have been selected as 2014-15 Evan G. and Helen G. Pattishall Undergraduate Research Endowment recipients. Each received a $990 scholarship.

Moise, a Schreyer Honors and Ronald E. McNair Scholar, is conducting research on diabetes prevention and care among Haitian immigrants under the supervision of Rhonda Belue, associate professor of health policy and administration.

“It is my privilege to receive the 2014-15 Evan G. and Helen H. Pattishall Research Endowment, which serves as a tangible byproduct of my hard work,” Moise said. “Currently, I am finishing my thesis, 'Focus Group Interviews among Haitian Diabetics.' After graduation, I plan on pursuing a public health Ph.D. to combat the inequitable distribution of chronic disease.”

Latten, also a Schreyer Honors Scholar, is studying nicotine exposure among adolescent mice with David Vandenbergh, associate professor of biobehavorial health and associate director of The Neuroscience Institute at The Huck Institutes for the Life Sciences. Following graduation, Latten plans to attend medical school to become a primary care physician.

“I am extremely excited to be recognized by the BBH department for my accomplishments in research and academics,” Latten said. “Under the guidance of Dr. Vandenbergh and his lab manager, Kerry Hair, I was fortunate to independently run experiments on mice over the course of several months.”

For more information on the Department of Biobehavioral Health, visit

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated August 10, 2015