Church named MAC Hermann Trophy Award semifinalist

December 05, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Penn State women's soccer senior Whitney Church (Ashburn, Va.) is one of 16 female semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Award, the NSCAA announced Tuesday (Dec. 2).

The MAC Hermann Trophy is collegiate soccer's most prestigious award, presented annually to one male and one female athlete. Three male and three female finalists for the award will be announced in mid-December. The winners will be named on Fri., Jan. 9, 2014 at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Church is the 15th Nittany Lion named as a semifinalist for the award, marking the sixth-straight season Penn State has had a semifinalist or runner-up for the award. Christie Welsh is the only Penn State athlete to win the MAC Hermann Trophy Award (2001).

In her senior season, Church was named the Big Ten Defender of the Year for the second time in three seasons. She led Penn State to its 17th Big Ten Championship and 20th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance, and the Nittany Lions advanced to the Elite Eight for the 10th time in program history.

Church concludes her career as Penn State's leader in minutes played (8,243), logging at least 90 minutes in 20 matches this year. She commanded one of the top defenses in the nation, which allowed more than one goal just twice and posted nine clean sheets, helping mentor the Nittany Lions' 11 freshmen, four of whom started 20-or-more matches. She also scored a goal against Ohio State (9/19) and assisted on the game-winner against Nebraska (10/24).

Fan voting for the award is at, beginning Tues., Dec. 2   

Last Updated December 05, 2014