Eight Penn State researchers named AAAS Fellows

By Matt Swayne
November 24, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Eight Penn State faculty members have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the organization announced today.

The 2014 Fellows are Craig Eugene Cameron, Eberly Chair Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Douglas R. Cavener, professor and head of biology; Joanna Floros, Evan Pugh Professor of Pediatrics and Obstetrics and Gynecology; Andrea M. Mastro, professor of microbiology and cell biology; B. Franklin Pugh, Evan Pugh Professor and Willaman Chair in Molecular Biology; Teh-hui Kao, Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Christine Dolan Keating, professor of chemistry; and Michael T. Green, associate professor of chemistry.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world's largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. This year, 401 Fellows were selected for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The Fellows will receive certificates and pins on Feb. 14 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2015 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, California.

Cameron was named a Fellow for distinguished contributions to the field of viral pathogenesis.

Cavener was honored for distinguished contributions to the fields of developmental regulation of metabolic systems and translational control of gene expression, and for distinguished academic leadership.

Floros was recognized for her study into the regulation of expression and function of pulmonary surfactant proteins and their role in pulmonary disease.

Green was named a Fellow for distinguished contributions to the field of bioinorganic chemistry, particularly in the elucidation of structure function relationships critical to biological carbon-hydrogen bond activation.

Kao was honored for distinguished research contributions to self-incompatibility in plants, excellence in teaching biochemistry and outstanding leadership of the graduate program in plant biology at Penn State.

Keating was recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of colloid and interface science, particularly for biomolecule-nanomaterial interactions, self- and directed assembly and artificial cells.

Mastro was named a Fellow for her distinguished contributions to the field of cancer biology, and particularly for regulatory mechanisms underlying breast cancer metastasis.

Pugh was honored for distinguished contribution to the field of molecular biology, particularly using genomic technologies to study genome organization and regulation.

The organization will officially announce the Fellows in the upcoming issue of Science.

  • Craig Cameron

    Craig Cameron

    IMAGE: Penn State
  • Douglas Cavener

    Douglas Cavener

    IMAGE: Penn State
  • Joanna Floros

    Joanna Floros

    IMAGE: Penn State
  • Andrea Mastro

    Andrea Mastro

    IMAGE: Penn State
  • B. Franklin Pugh

    Frank Pugh

    IMAGE: Penn State
  • Teh-hui Kao

    Teh-hui Kao

    IMAGE: Penn State
  • Christine Dolan Keating

    Christine Dolan Keating

    IMAGE: Penn State
  • Michael T. Green

    Michael T. Green

    IMAGE: Penn State
(1 of 8)

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated November 24, 2014