Search begins for vice provost and dean of the Graduate School

November 20, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Penn State has announced a national search for the next vice provost and dean of the Graduate School. Barbara O. Korner, dean of the College of Arts and Architecture, will chair the search committee.

Former vice president for research and dean of the Graduate School Henry C. “Hank” Foley assumed the position of executive vice president for academic affairs at the University of Missouri System in 2013. Regina Vasilatos-Younken, professor of endocrine physiology and nutrition in the College of Agricultural Sciences, is serving as interim dean of the Graduate School.

Established in 1922, Penn State’s Graduate School is one of the nation’s largest with more than 12,000 graduate students. International enrollment has increased to more than 2,700 students. The Graduate School has grown into one that offers more than 163 graduate fields of study, including 93 research doctorates, eight professional doctorates, 105 research master’s degrees, and a growing portfolio of professional master’s degree programs.

There are more than 2,800 graduate faculty members across all graduate degree programs. The vice provost and dean will lead one of the most cutting-edge, rapidly growing academic units in a multi-disciplinary and highly inter-disciplinary research university. The vice provost and dean will oversee a budget of approximately $17.6 million and a staff of approximately 50 full-time equivalents.

Applications, nominations and inquiries should be emailed to or mailed to: Barbara O. Korner, chair, Search Committee for the Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School, The Pennsylvania State University, 201 Old Main, University Park, PA 16802.

The search committee will review applications and nominations beginning Dec. 17 and will continue until the position is filled. For more information about the Graduate School, visit

Members of the search committee are:

-- Suzanne C. Adair, assistant dean of graduate student affairs, the Graduate School;
-- Gordon W. Blood, professor and head of the Department of Communication Science and Disorders, College of Health and Human Development;
-- Blannie E. Bowen, vice provost for academic affairs;
-- Roger K. Finke, professor of sociology and religious studies, College of the Liberal Arts;
-- Peter Idowu, assistant dean for graduate studies, Penn State Harrisburg;
-- Wanda B. Knight, administrative fellow to the executive vice president and provost, associate professor of art education and women’s studies;
-- Barbara O. Korner, committee chair and dean, College of Arts and Architecture;
-- Todd C. LaJeunesse, associate professor of biology, Eberly College of Science;
-- James A. Nemes, director of academic affairs, Penn State Great Valley;
-- Joan M. Redwing, professor of material science and engineering, College of Engineering;
-- Douglas K. Whalen Jr., graduate student in plant pathology and executive vice president of the Graduate & Professional Student Association.

Last Updated November 20, 2014