Palmer Museum docents to help patrons 'Start with Art' on home football weekends

September 16, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa -- The Palmer Museum of Art docents will welcome visitors Fridays and Saturdays in the museum's Christoffers Lobby on home football weekends during regular museum hours. 

Docents are a vital part of the educational mission of the Palmer Museum of Art. They are volunteer educators who provide tours of the museum's permanent collection and special exhibitions to a vast public audience. Docents facilitate personal interaction, education and enrichment between museum visitors and works of art. They develop expertise through ongoing training, research and continuing education.

The upcoming schedule:

Friday, Sept. 19, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 20, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 26, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 27, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 24, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 25, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 31, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 1, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 14, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 15, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 28: Closed
Saturday, Nov. 29: Noon to 4 p.m.

The Palmer Museum of Art at Penn State is located on Curtin Road and admission is free. Museum hours are 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday, and noon to 4 p.m. Sunday. The museum is closed Mondays and some holidays. It also will be closed Thursday, Nov. 27; Friday, Nov. 28; and Wednesday, Dec. 24; through Friday, Jan. 2. The museum will have reduced hours these dates: noon to 4 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 22, through Sunday, Nov. 30, and noon to 4 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 3, through Sunday, Jan. 11.

Exhibitions on view at the Palmer Museum of Art this fall are "Lanny Sommese: Image Maker," through Dec. 21; "Henry Varnum Poor: Studies for the Land Grant Frescoes," through Dec. 21; and "Marcellus Shale Documentary Project," Sept. 23 through Dec. 14. "Marcellus Shale Documentary Project" was organized by the Pittsburgh Center for the Arts.

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated September 17, 2014