Church named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

August 22, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Penn State women's soccer senior Whitney Church (Ashburn, Va.) has been named to the 2014 Women's Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Award Watch List, the NSCAA announced.

This is Church's second-consecutive appearance on the Hermann Award Watch List.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the highest individual award presented to a collegiate soccer player, is presented annually to one male and one female athlete. The winners will be announced Fri., Jan. 9, 2015, at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. Christie Welsh is the only Penn State athlete to win the award (2001).

Church is 35 female NCAA Division I players named to the list and one of two Big Ten female student-athletes selected. The senior was an NSCAA All-Great Lakes and All-Big Ten second team selection in 2013. A defender, Church logged the second-most minutes on the Nittany Lions, starting 21 of 23 games for 1,945 minutes.

The No. 24 Nittany Lions open the regular season with the Penn State Invitational at Jeffrey Field. The 2014 campaign begins on Friday (Aug. 22) with a 5 p.m. match against West Virginia and a 2:30 p.m. matchup against Syracuse on Sun., Aug. 24.   

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated August 22, 2014