Trio of Nittany Lions to be inducted into U.S. Field Hockey Hall of Fame

June 19, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- A trio of former Penn State field hockey student-athletes will be among those inducted into the U.S. Field Hockey Hall of Fame as the 1984 Olympic Team is inducted on Saturday (June 21). Current Penn State head coach Charlene Morett, Chris Larson and Brenda Stauffer were all members of the 1984 Olympic Team that earned the bronze medal in the 1984 Olympic Games held in Los Angeles.

This is the second Hall of Fame selection for both Morett and Larson, who have also been inducted as individuals. Morett and Larson were members of the 1989 Hall of Fame class.

The bronze medal won by the 1984 Women's Olympic Team is the only women's medal in the history of United States in field hockey at the Olympics. After defeating Australia in a penalty shoot-out, USA captured the bronze medal. USA Field Hockey is honoring its first team in the Hall of Fame on the 30th anniversary of their triumphant victory.

A 1979 graduate of Penn State, Morett was an outstanding field hockey player and the program's only three-time first team All-American. At the national level, the Aldan, Pa. native was a two-time Olympian (1980 [boycotted], 1984), playing in more than 100 international matches for the U.S. The culmination of her individual playing career came in 1982, when Morett was named the USFHA's Co-Athlete of the Year. Morett returned to Happy Valley in 1987 to take over as the head coach of the Penn State field hockey program. The coach has now completed 28 seasons at the helm, compiling a record of 437-167-8 at Penn State.

Larson was a first team NFHCA All-American as a senior in 1979 and was on the US National Field Hockey team from 1978-84. In addition to her selection to the 1984 US National Team, Larson was a member of the 1980 Olympic Team that boycotted the Olympic Games in Moscow.

Stauffer was the National Player of the Year as a senior in 1982 and was a two-time NFHCA All-American (1981, 1982). She ranks second on Penn State's all-time assists lists with 52 and is ninth in points with 138. Her 31 assists in 1981 are still the Penn State single-season record. Additionally, she was on the AIAW All-Tournament team in 1981 and the NCAA All-Tournament team in 1982.

The 1984 Olympic Team members are Beth Anders, Beth Beglin, Regina (Gina) Buggy, Gwen Cheeseman Alexander, Sheryl Johnson, Christine Larson-Mason, Kathleen McGahey, Anita Miller Huntsman, Leslie Milne, Charlene Morett, Diane Moyer, Marcella (Marcy) Place, Karen Shelton, Brenda Stauffer, Julia Staver, Judy Strong, Vonnie Gros (Coach), Marge Watson, Marge Garinger, Dr. Ben Mayne (Doctor), Pam Chlad (Trainer).  

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated June 19, 2014