College of Communications claims third consecutive national championship

May 08, 2014

Penn State’s College of Communications has captured an unprecedented third consecutive national championship in the overall intercollegiate standings in the William R. Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program.

The overall champion is the institution that scores the most points in the competition’s combined writing-broadcasting-photojournalism-multimedia standings.

The annual Hearst competition draws more than 1,100 student entries each year. It is open to students from the country’s 108 nationally accredited undergraduate programs.

Behind Penn State in the top-10 in the overall standings for 2013-14 were: Missouri, Western Kentucky, North Carolina, Indiana, Arizona State, Nebraska, Northwestern and Montana. Oregon and Florida tied for 10th.

“We were pleased when we won our first overall championship in 2011-12,” Dean Doug Anderson said. “We were elated when we repeated in 2012-13 and we are thrilled to have won this year. Our consistency is a credit to the outstanding students we have in our program.”

The college captured eight individual top-10 student finishes in the five writing categories (features, enterprise reporting, sports writing, personality/profile writing and breaking news writing): one individual top-10 finish in photojournalism, one individual top-10 finish in broadcasting, one individual top-10 finish in multimedia and one group of students earned a top-10 finish in the multimedia team category.

In addition to the 12 top-10 finishes, the college earned seven finishes in the top-20 in the four competitions.

By virtue of their outstanding individual performances, three Penn State students -- Christina Gallagher, Anna Orso and Jessica Tully -- earned spots in the 54th annual Hearst individual championships in Washington, D.C., in June.

Of the more than 1,100 individual entries in this year’s Hearst competitions, 29 students qualify for the individual championships: eight in writing, five in radio, five in television, six in photo and five in multimedia.

Penn State and Missouri were the only universities to finish in the top-10 in the intercollegiate standings in all four competitions. Penn State finished second in writing, fifth in multimedia, sixth in broadcasting and seventh in photojournalism.

Penn State is the first school to win three consecutive overall championships in the competition.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program, often called “the Pulitzers of College Journalism,” is conducted under the auspices of the accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and is fully funded by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program awards more than $500,000 in awards and grants annually to the country’s nationally accredited programs and its students.

Last Updated May 08, 2014