Abington tennis teams ace the season

May 05, 2014

The deep and talented Penn State Abington tennis program served up an incredible season with the men's and women's teams capturing championships and closing out the spring by dominating the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) with 16 all-conference, coach of the year, and both rookie of the year honors.

Three seems to be a lucky number for first-year student-athletes Honora Hegarty and Mike Herman. They claimed the women's and men's NEAC Rookie of the Year awards and both also were named all-conference for their singles and doubles play.

"Mike and Honora were a big part of our success," Abington tennis coach David Sheaffer said. "They made our teams a lot deeper, and both of them had winning records at the top spot."

His peers selected Sheaffer as the Coach of the Year.

The Abington women earned a total of seven NEAC all-conference designations including three for doubles teams comprised of Hegarty and Sheena Philip; Taylor Zisholtz and Janie Saile; and Olya Popili and Alexandra Murianka. Hegerty teammates Zisholtz, Popili, and Christina Pereira joined her on the singles all-conference team. This is the second year Pereira was named all-conference.

The women's team won the NEAC regular season champions before losing in the tournament semifinals.

The Abington men earned a total of nine NEAC all-conference designations including three for doubles teams comprised of Herman and Sam Borai; James Howell and Monte Dunson; and Steven Ly and Kevin Wilkinson. The same players also were named all-conference for their singles play.

The men's team captured the 2013-14 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) west division men's tennis championship before losing in the NAC finals.

To learn more about Abington NCAA Division III athletics, go to abingtonsports.com/index.aspx

  • Abington tennis champs men

    The Abington men's team boasted a rookie of the year and nine all-conference honors.

    IMAGE: Penn State
  • Abington Sheaffer

    David Sheaffer was named conference Coach of the Year.

    IMAGE: Penn State
(1 of 2)

(Media Contacts)

Last Updated May 05, 2014